Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Kingdom of Delain is at stake when King Roland is murdered and his son and rightful heir, Peter, is framed for the crime. Plotting against him is the evil Flagg and his pawn, young Prince Thomas. Yet with every plan there are holes - like Thomas's terrible secret. And the determined Prince Peter, who is planning a daring escape from his imprisonment.

Stephen King has taken the classic fairy tale and transformed it into a masterpiece of fiction for the ages.

©1987 Stephen King (P)2010 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Memorable, suspenseful, brimming with action." ( Chicago Sun-Times)
"King has done a masterful job - beautifully told and beautifully illustrated." ( The Cincinnati Post)
"Compelling - his most powerful storytelling." ( The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    975
  • 4 Stars
    361
  • 3 Stars
    115
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    990
  • 4 Stars
    226
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    22

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    897
  • 4 Stars
    303
  • 3 Stars
    129
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice change of pace as I read all things dark tower

I'm currently reading through the dark tower series, including some of the books that tie into it. Before this I had just read:

Salems lot
The gunslinger
The drawing of the three
The stand

I've liked each book so far, but this one was very different from the others. The book is told as a bit of a fairy tale, with the narrator stopping to comment on the story, teasing what will happen next and asking you to stop and think about how you would feel if you found yourself in the story.

I very much enjoyed the narration, and while the story was simple, it was a short and pleasant change of pace.

While the book does tie in strongly with a character found in other king books, you don't need to have read anything else before this one.

If you're like me and still early on your journey through all things dark tower, I think you'll look back on this one as a nice little side vacation.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Place to Start

If you haven't read Stephen King and you've been meaning to start, this would be an excellent book for you. It's also appropriate for younger readers. Featuring a villain familiar to anyone who's seen or read The Stand, or The Dark Tower series, this story stands alone and is a favorite of many of King's constant readers. Fans of Ronnie James Dio, and Game of Thrones should enjoy this.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

King pulls a Tolkien

Eyes of the Dragon is Steven King's first departure from Horror into the realm of Epic Fantasy. It is different from King's standard fair and I admit I only picked this up because the book's principal antagonist, Randal Flagg, later reappears in King's Dark Tower series. That said, I was very impressed with what I found here. Eyes of the Dragon is fantastic and stands as a great novel all on its own.

Also, Bronson Pinchot's narration is absolutely terrific. The echo he uses when voicing the dark wizard Flagg is particularly bone chilling. Highly recommended!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

I don't believe I've ever before heard a narrator so good that I could, as they say, listen to him read the phone book. That it's Bronson Pinchot, who I've known for his many well-remembered silly-voiced characters is amazing. I'm going to go and look for more that he's done.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a performance!!!

I have listened to dozens and dozens of audiobooks in my life, but I have to say Bronson Pinchot’s performance on this book was just incredible and was very possibly the best I’ve ever heard. Plus the story is great. Having read most of King’s books, this one is easily one of my favorites. All around, great. Very different from King’s typical horror realm. I really enjoyed his take on a fantasy story. You should definitely give it a try!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Justin
  • NEW PORT RICHEY, FLORIDA, United States
  • 09-26-17

A Murder fantasy of epic proportions

A who did it must read. Was it the King's eldest son or the king's magician? When the king's youngest takes the power his conflicted between sibling rivalry and a secret that could bring that could silence the whispers and gossip through out the land.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stephen King's foray into medieval fantasy is a w

inner. Listen to it with your children.

Many great memories of this book.

I am trying to make the 15 word minimum at this point.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bronson Pinchot is amazing!

At several points, I had to remind myself that it was only Bronson. It has the feel of a full cast recording, great work.

Occasionally, the audio clips off half a word at the end of a chapter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Mr. Pinchot did a wonderful job telling the story. Stephen King never disappoints. It was a wonderful read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

If you could sum up The Eyes of the Dragon in three words, what would they be?

I have never read a Stephen King book because of the scare factor, but this is great. It would be okay for kids, too. I'm ready for another novel by King. Branson Pinchot did a great job narrating, also.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful