We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Eyes of the Dragon Audiobook

The Eyes of the Dragon

Regular Price:$22.67
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Kingdom of Delain is at stake when King Roland is murdered and his son and rightful heir, Peter, is framed for the crime. Plotting against him is the evil Flagg and his pawn, young Prince Thomas. Yet with every plan there are holes - like Thomas's terrible secret. And the determined Prince Peter, who is planning a daring escape from his imprisonment.

Stephen King has taken the classic fairy tale and transformed it into a masterpiece of fiction for the ages.

©1987 Stephen King (P)2010 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Memorable, suspenseful, brimming with action." (Chicago Sun-Times)

"King has done a masterful job - beautifully told and beautifully illustrated." (The Cincinnati Post)

"Compelling - his most powerful storytelling." (The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (968 )
5 star
 (630)
4 star
 (240)
3 star
 (77)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (886 )
5 star
 (583)
4 star
 (194)
3 star
 (89)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.5 (894 )
5 star
 (637)
4 star
 (160)
3 star
 (57)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (18)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    johnny F 06-25-16
    johnny F 06-25-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice change of pace as I read all things dark tower"

    I'm currently reading through the dark tower series, including some of the books that tie into it. Before this I had just read:

    Salems lot
    The gunslinger
    The drawing of the three
    The stand

    I've liked each book so far, but this one was very different from the others. The book is told as a bit of a fairy tale, with the narrator stopping to comment on the story, teasing what will happen next and asking you to stop and think about how you would feel if you found yourself in the story.

    I very much enjoyed the narration, and while the story was simple, it was a short and pleasant change of pace.

    While the book does tie in strongly with a character found in other king books, you don't need to have read anything else before this one.

    If you're like me and still early on your journey through all things dark tower, I think you'll look back on this one as a nice little side vacation.

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jston 03-19-16
    jston 03-19-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Great Place to Start"

    If you haven't read Stephen King and you've been meaning to start, this would be an excellent book for you. It's also appropriate for younger readers. Featuring a villain familiar to anyone who's seen or read The Stand, or The Dark Tower series, this story stands alone and is a favorite of many of King's constant readers. Fans of Ronnie James Dio, and Game of Thrones should enjoy this.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David S. Mathew 03-10-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    174
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    106
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "King pulls a Tolkien"

    Eyes of the Dragon is Steven King's first departure from Horror into the realm of Epic Fantasy. It is different from King's standard fair and I admit I only picked this up because the book's principal antagonist, Randal Flagg, later reappears in King's Dark Tower series. That said, I was very impressed with what I found here. Eyes of the Dragon is fantastic and stands as a great novel all on its own.

    Also, Bronson Pinchot's narration is absolutely terrific. The echo he uses when voicing the dark wizard Flagg is particularly bone chilling. Highly recommended!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sue 01-30-16
    Sue 01-30-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    I don't believe I've ever before heard a narrator so good that I could, as they say, listen to him read the phone book. That it's Bronson Pinchot, who I've known for his many well-remembered silly-voiced characters is amazing. I'm going to go and look for more that he's done.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 01-19-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bronson Pinchot is amazing!"

    At several points, I had to remind myself that it was only Bronson. It has the feel of a full cast recording, great work.

    Occasionally, the audio clips off half a word at the end of a chapter.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shady Jo Sanchez 05-19-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Mr. Pinchot did a wonderful job telling the story. Stephen King never disappoints. It was a wonderful read!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jannetteb56 03-04-16
    Jannetteb56 03-04-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"
    If you could sum up The Eyes of the Dragon in three words, what would they be?

    I have never read a Stephen King book because of the scare factor, but this is great. It would be okay for kids, too. I'm ready for another novel by King. Branson Pinchot did a great job narrating, also.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Megan K 01-19-16
    Megan K 01-19-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great reader!"

    The reader simply makes a good book even better!! Great job to him. The book is great if you want a short break from reality with a classic fairy tale like feel.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cody Weaver De Leon, Tx 01-16-16
    Cody Weaver De Leon, Tx 01-16-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story but terrible reader"

    The story is great. Not your typical Stephen King novel, more of a "child like" book. I've read it probably 5 times since my childhood and have always enjoyed it. Unfortunately, the speaker is terrible. Half the time it sounds like a computer is speaking. You can hardly hear the poor imitation of Flagg when he speaks.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe 11-20-17
    Joe 11-20-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun story, tough narration to listen to"

    I read this book to catch up on books that relate to the Dark Tower series. I have now read quite a bit of Stephen King, and this was totally different than any I've read to date. He dedicates this to his daughter, and the book reads like a story that he's writing for a young child. It's very well written and a very fun story, especially if you enjoy Medieval Time stories.

    The story gives a very good description of Randall Flagg, even better than The Stand, in my opinion. It definitely makes sense why this is a story to read before the DT series, and it's pretty short, so I would recommend.

    The worst part about this audiobook was the narrator. This is only the 2nd audiobook that I've really disliked the narrator, and I don't remember for certain the other. His voice for Flagg is horrendous and for some reason all the drunks and poor people have Irish accents.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.