Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.

As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....

©2005 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." (Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." (Daily Express)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jean
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 03-21-16

Intrigue, treachery and lots of action

This is book six in the series. I have been able to read only episodes one and three as Audible does not carry the other volumes. The year is 45 AD; Centurions Marco and Cato are in Rome awaiting the results of an official investigation of the death of a fellow officer in Britain. Cato may face a death sentence. Imperial Secretary Narcissus sends Marco and Cato on a special mission to rescue an Imperial agent captured by Illyrian pirates and return the Delphic Scrolls the agent was carrying.

The book is well written, fast paced with lots of action and naval battles as well as land battles. Scarrow features the Roman Navy in this story including its structure of command as well as information about the type of ships used. Our Hero's fight side by side with the Roman Marines and learn techniques to fight aboard ships. Russell Boulter did a good job narrating the story. I wish the publisher's would stay with one narrator throughout the series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Regrettably the weakest in the series so far.<br />

Aside from the change in tone/performance, the story is lacking aswell. it's alright, not great.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • daveyates
  • 07-05-17

Okay but very hammy performance

The story is fine, a good adventure romp and a good addition to the Makro and Cato books, but this book sees a change of narrator. The book was played out to impressions of Terry Thomas, Leslie Phillips, Michael Caine, Captain Pugwash, Ernst Blofelt and Quasimodo. It was pretty ridiculous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mr. Sjb Horth
  • 06-01-17

Good book spoiled by the reader

Another good book in the series but the narrator is just not right which is a shame

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 10-13-16

I Finally Caved In!

About a year ago I said that I was stuck because books 4 and 5 in this series were not available. Sadly at the time of writing that's still the case but I finally caved in. This series is massively fun and despite missing the two books it was excellent to catch up with Macro and Cato once again.

Things have obviously changed since I last spent time with them but all of the things that were strong previously are still very much in evidence. Simon Scarrow ably demonstrates an excellent knowledge of the time period and this time we are treated to some chariot racing and naval action.

The humour between the two main characters made me smile, particularly the scene where Cato charges the enemy!

There is lots of action, no little intrigue and at times a light touch. I won't be leaving it a year before the next one.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Josur
  • 10-09-17

A filler story with a poor performance...

Ok, so I've enjoyed the other books in this series. The camaraderie between the two lead characters is endearing and the historical slant of their adventures is engaging.

This story however struggled to keep my interest with a series of clanging hints of what is to come and a protracted ending that left me hoping the pirates would just do me the favour of finishing off the Roman's whilst Vitelius trundles down another well trod path of deception.

With all that said the plodding story line is nothing compared to the reader on this book. As has been said on other reviews I understand that the same voice actor can on occasion not be used book to book however at least let them listen to the previous book to get a feel for how the audience expect the characters to sound and have their names pronounced.

It appears from this book's performance that Macro has spent too long campaigning in Britain as he now has a Lancastrian accent whilst Verspasian (previously pronounced Ver-SPAY-tion, now Ver-SPASS-ion) presumably wants to hide his identity and has started sounding like Christian Bales' Batman. Other former characters are treated to a selection of nasal whiny tones and it also appears that Michael Caine puts in an appearance thankfully stopping short of asking to blow the doors off the citadel.

All in all not great, it seems that the author is trying to setup further intrigue for later books in the series but to be honest a short summation would have been enough and certainly would have saved me a number of hours groaning and shouting at the voice actor for making this audio book frustrating at best to listen to.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-07-17

s

again another great book by Simon scarrow, I am hooked on this series. however I am finding it very annoying you have different narrators for each one. it's confusing hearing people pronounce names differently and the character accents changing with each new narrator!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • val wills.
  • 08-12-17

story good as ever,, but narrator very poor

character voices difficult to separate from one another and overall weakly done and hard to understand

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • David
  • 06-23-17

Good plot, a great twist & humour too!

A great insight to the Roman Navy as our two hero's we're plunged into unfamiliar surroundings. The main characters in the story really took shape and I enjoyed the humour between them.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ferdinand
  • 05-12-17

amazing

Mr. Scarrow, please never stop writing this series! I've loved every book I've listened to of yours and am eagerly awaiting the next one.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • M R D Marsh
  • 04-19-17

Why keep changing the narrator!!!!!!!

If you could sum up The Eagle's Prophecy in three words, what would they be?

Unfortunately for me this narrator does not do the characters any good, for me macro is a Liverpudlian and Cato seems completely changed. I still enjoyed the story just that the narration is all wrong. This interpretation of the characters does not follow or fit the characters from book 1. As I say this is my view and has spoilt the listening for me.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Russell Boulter?

Only if it was a one off and not part of a series which already has started.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

It wouldn't happen, the story would be completely changed

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • S. Olver
  • 03-31-17

Another great episode of Cato & Macro

Another fantastic tale with twists and turns only made better by the revealing hints for the bigger series of books. A great listen and another one of the series ticked off!

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rhys
  • 10-13-17

Good Listen

Vespasian = "Im Batman!"

I enjoyed the performance and the story is entertaining but the voice for Vespasian didn't fit the character

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Craig
  • 06-26-17

Excellent

love it . look forward to the next adventure of these two brave men. Eagles