We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Temple Secrets Audiobook

Temple Secrets

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed author Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and an Amazon number one best seller).

In Savannah, Georgia, one woman holds all the secrets. When she dies of a possible voodoo curse, the secrets start coming out. The ghosts are upset. And for the Temple family women, everything is about to change forever.

Aristocratic 80-year-old Iris Temple has a fondness for exotic meats, and her poison-pen Book of Secrets keeps her family and all of Savannah's elites in line. Shortly after Iris dies, compromising tidbits from the Book of Secrets are mysteriously published in the newspaper, and the quiet lives of the Temple family women explode.

Iris' estranged daughter, Rose, escaped to Wyoming 20 years ago and married a cowboy. Will she accept the outrageous terms of the will?

Queenie, Iris' black half sister, lives in the historic family mansion, suffering Iris' arrogant ways as her personal assistant. After all she's tolerated with Iris, will she inherit the mansion, as promised?

One hundred-year-old Old Sally, who keeps the old Gullah traditions alive, is Queenie's mother by her white employer, Iris' father. For Rose, she is the mother Iris could never be. Did Old Sally put a voodoo curse on Iris?

When they discover who will inherit the historic family mansion and Iris' multimillion- dollar estate, the whole boisterous business of secrets forces the women into challenging - and sometimes hilarious - situations as they put the past to rest and forge a brighter future.

Temple Secrets is Southern Gothic fiction at its best. If you like strong women, plots full of twists and turns, characters who are funny and unpredictable, and sibling rivalry of biblical proportions, you'll love Susan Gabriel's rollicking tale of the cost of keeping secrets, the healing that comes with their exposure, and the bliss of coming home again.

Buy Temple Secrets and start unlocking the mysteries today!

©2015 Susan Gabriel (P)2015 Susan Gabriel

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (72 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.2 (68 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.8 (67 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    S. Watkins 11-22-15
    S. Watkins 11-22-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Southern Fiction at its Finest"

    This novel had me in its grasp from the very beginning to the very end. The characters came alive and almost felt like my own family. I was not always sure where the story was heading, and that made for an exciting read - never a dull moment. Anyone who likes Southern charm, quirky relatives, and a bit of the supernatural will love this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suwanee Richardson US 10-01-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding!"

    This audiobook was wonderful. Each of the characters had strong personalities thanks to the writer, and the narrator brilliantly became each character. Not a small feat with the diversity of the individual personalities. I really enjoyed the story and look forward to the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Robinson 08-27-17
    S. Robinson 08-27-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "stick with it"

    it started a little slow but got much better as it went along. wish it had more details on the past

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Oliver 03-26-17
    Lisa Oliver 03-26-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The story is good, although told a bit melodramatic..."

    I wish I read it instead of listened to it. The reader was too melodramatic at times...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    N. Hyde 02-16-17
    N. Hyde 02-16-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Historical fiction at its best"

    I love Georgia history, Savannah and its stories. Beautiful characters and surroundings. You can almost see what the reader is reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Parker 02-03-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this story! Could not stop listening!"

    Great story about the quirkiness of the South. Great narration. Characters were believable and well developed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Burnside 02-02-17
    S. Burnside 02-02-17 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved It From Start To Finish!"

    Thoroughly enjoyable story. Eccentric characters, ancient wisdom, and old secrets bubbling to the surface are expertly woven together in this wonderful southern tale - a true delight to listen to. Excellently performed by this very talented narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mscannon2005 Bakersfield, California 04-11-16
    mscannon2005 Bakersfield, California 04-11-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Temple Secrets"

    I enjoyed this book with all of the twists and turns and secrets. Great book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amy 07-17-15
    Amy 07-17-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very enjoyable summer read."

    I especially loved that this is read by the author. An engaging story that captures the feel of the South.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.