Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A new tour de force from the best-selling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for fans of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.

Profoundly moving and gracefully told, Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.

So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

©2017 Min Jin Lee (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"If proof were needed that one family's story can be the story of the whole world, then Pachinko offers that proof. Min Jin Lee's novel is gripping from start to finish, crossing cultures and generations with breathtaking power. Pachinko is a stunning achievement, full of heart, full of grace, full of truth." (Erica Wagner, author of Ariel's Gift and Seizure)
"Both for those who love Korea, as well as for those who know no more than Hyundai, Samsung, and kimchi, this extraordinary book will prove a revelation of joy and heartbreak. I could not stop turning the pages, and wished this most poignant of sagas would never end. Min Jin Lee displays a tenderness and wisdom ideally matched to an unforgettable tale that she relates just perfectly." (Simon Winchester, New York Times best-selling author of The Professor and the Madman and Korea: A Walk through the Land of Miracles)
"A deep, broad, addictive history of a Korean family in Japan enduring and prospering through the 20th century." (The Guardian)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    282
  • 4 Stars
    151
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    287
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    258
  • 4 Stars
    138
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Outstanding.

Outstanding. One of my favorite works of fiction I’ve been through in a long time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

nice story narration was off putting

the story was great but the narrator sounds child like. it takes a few hours to get used to her voice, inflection, and tonality. sometimes it seemed like she was reading a childrens book.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too Much Telling

Not only is there too much telling in this novel, it is too long. Much of the dialogue is stilted and some of the sex scenes seem gratuitous. Still, some of the characters are compelling.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

wonderful book

loved the story but wish Audible could have found a Korean American or anybody who could pronounce Korean words correctly.
it was disappointing to hear some Korean words pronounced incorrectly.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Laura
  • San Franciso, CA, United States
  • 03-23-17

Historically interesting, but...

Narrator had sweet voice but not suited to story. Into the book, some profanity and descriptions of sexual encounters were either not credible or seemed that way because of the narration.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • DM
  • 01-02-18

Reads like an apprentice novel

Min Jin Lee has an agenda, to be sure, to explore the meaning of ethnic and gender identity amidst conflicts of war, colonization, economic devastation, and so on. Unfortunately, the perspective is neither original or interestingly narrated. Filled with wooden dialog and a plethora of irrelevant detail, the book should not have made the NYTimes list of the ten best novels of 2017.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator fine, book excellent!

This is a gorgeous novel with rich characters and sweeping family drama. If you are a fan of multigenerational sagas, this will be a new favorite. The narrator is good, but nothing mind blowing. Overall I'd highly recommend.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Astonishing beauty and equal heartbreak

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Profound story.

What other book might you compare Pachinko to and why?

Dostoyevskyan.

Which character – as performed by Allison Hiroto – was your favorite?

I will never forget Koh Hansu. What a mofo; what a damaged person; yet showed glimmers of hopefulness.

If you could take any character from Pachinko out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Hansu.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

Enjoyed the beginning but characters and story disjointed and not well developed. as it went on sex and foul language substituted for good storytelling and character development.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entrancing!

I’m in love with this novel! From the very beginning, I was captivated by the incredibly complex and deeply relatable characters.