We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Pachinko Audiobook

Pachinko

Regular Price:$29.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A new tour de force from the best-selling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for fans of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.

Profoundly moving and gracefully told, Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.

So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

©2017 Min Jin Lee (P)2017 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"If proof were needed that one family's story can be the story of the whole world, then Pachinko offers that proof. Min Jin Lee's novel is gripping from start to finish, crossing cultures and generations with breathtaking power. Pachinko is a stunning achievement, full of heart, full of grace, full of truth." (Erica Wagner, author of Ariel's Gift and Seizure)

"Both for those who love Korea, as well as for those who know no more than Hyundai, Samsung, and kimchi, this extraordinary book will prove a revelation of joy and heartbreak. I could not stop turning the pages, and wished this most poignant of sagas would never end. Min Jin Lee displays a tenderness and wisdom ideally matched to an unforgettable tale that she relates just perfectly." (Simon Winchester, New York Times best-selling author of The Professor and the Madman and Korea: A Walk through the Land of Miracles)

"A deep, broad, addictive history of a Korean family in Japan enduring and prospering through the 20th century." (The Guardian)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (288 )
5 star
 (147)
4 star
 (86)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (260 )
5 star
 (131)
4 star
 (75)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.3 (259 )
5 star
 (148)
4 star
 (66)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tracy 02-27-17
    Tracy 02-27-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "nice story narration was off putting"

    the story was great but the narrator sounds child like. it takes a few hours to get used to her voice, inflection, and tonality. sometimes it seemed like she was reading a childrens book.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura San Franciso, CA, United States 03-23-17
    Laura San Franciso, CA, United States 03-23-17 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Historically interesting, but..."

    Narrator had sweet voice but not suited to story. Into the book, some profanity and descriptions of sexual encounters were either not credible or seemed that way because of the narration.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann K. 04-04-17
    Ann K. 04-04-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Beautiful Epic Family Saga"

    A long listen but a well told story about a family coming full circle and the power of loyalty love and family ties.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christine Holley 03-18-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Enjoyed the beginning but characters and story disjointed and not well developed. as it went on sex and foul language substituted for good storytelling and character development.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. Verner Bellingham, wa 10-03-17
    L. Verner Bellingham, wa 10-03-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator fine, book excellent!"

    This is a gorgeous novel with rich characters and sweeping family drama. If you are a fan of multigenerational sagas, this will be a new favorite. The narrator is good, but nothing mind blowing. Overall I'd highly recommend.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ray acosta 10-03-17
    ray acosta 10-03-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bookshelf worthy"

    I could feel the hearts of generations of Koreans thur her words and I learned about a very important piece of history. Definitely going on the book shelf for all time.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zoe 09-04-17
    Zoe 09-04-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too Much Telling"

    Not only is there too much telling in this novel, it is too long. Much of the dialogue is stilted and some of the sex scenes seem gratuitous. Still, some of the characters are compelling.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deborah Jacob Port of Spain 08-20-17
    Deborah Jacob Port of Spain 08-20-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    124
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jackpot!"

    Min Jin Lee's Pachinko is a beautifully written historical novel of love, faith and perseverance displayed in unforgettable Korean characters trying to find their place in Japan. The story is somewhat reminiscent of Oswald Wynd's novel The Ginger Tree. Min Jin Lee's voice resonates across cultures to capture the agony of any immigrant trying to succeed and fit in another country. There are enough twists and unexpected conflicts to satisfy readers' taste for excitement. The characters display bravery and resilience in their every day lives and serve as an inspiration to readers. This is one of the most uplifting books I have read in years. I loved the narrator's voice and interpretation of the novel.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Geoffrey Nashville, TN, USA 07-31-17
    Geoffrey Nashville, TN, USA 07-31-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Astonishing beauty and equal heartbreak"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Profound story.


    What other book might you compare Pachinko to and why?

    Dostoyevskyan.


    Which character – as performed by Allison Hiroto – was your favorite?

    I will never forget Koh Hansu. What a mofo; what a damaged person; yet showed glimmers of hopefulness.


    If you could take any character from Pachinko out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Hansu.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P. Lambert 02-26-17
    P. Lambert 02-26-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator"

    Somehow the narrator's voice doesn't "fit" with this story of Korean/Japanese culture. I nearly returned it but decided to keep listening. Though this takes place during two world wars and the Korean conflict, it is not about war or destruction. Instead I learned a lot about an era of major cultural differences between these two countries and the effect on families that were inevitably mixed race. I had no idea before reading Pachinko that Koreans were considered second class at best.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.