Regular price: $24.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This heart-warming, life affirming best seller is perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Rosie Project.

Winner, General Fiction Book Of The Year, Australian Book Industry Awards, 2015.

Winner, Matt Richell New Writer Of The Year, Australian Book Industry Awards, 2015.

At seven years old, Millie Bird realises that everything is dying around her. She wasn’t to know that after she had recorded 27 assorted creatures in her Book of Dead Things her dad would be a Dead Thing, too.

Agatha Pantha is 82 and has not left her house since her husband died. She sits behind her front window, hidden by the curtains and ivy, and shouts at passers-by, roaring her anger at complete strangers. Until the day Agatha spies a young girl across the street.

Karl the touch typist is 87 when his son kisses him on the cheek before leaving him at the nursing home. As he watches his son leave, Karl has a moment of clarity. He escapes the home and takes off in search of something different.

Three lost people needing to be found - but they don’t know it yet. Millie, Agatha and Karl are about to break the rules and discover what living is all about.

Loved around the world, this Australian debut novel will have you laughing, crying, and, by the end, feeling just a little wiser….

©2014 Brooke Davis (P)2015 Hachette Australia Pty Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Lost & Found is a highly entertaining road trip and much, much more...bubbling with warmth and humour, it also explores loss, death, love and trust." (The West Australian)
"The same feel-good word of mouth as...The Rosie Project." (The Sydney Morning Herald)
"Heartbreaking, funny and brilliant." (Courier Mail)
"Enchanting debut." (Vanity Fair)
"Uproarious and affecting." (Independent)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • robw4800
  • 11-16-17

What a surprise - quirky and heart warming

The story is as quirky as the characters, but a lovely depiction of the hardships of life and how important our connections and friendships are to getting us through.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Cecilia Flynn
  • 10-30-16

Good start and story but that's it...

I started listening to this book with a lot of excitement. The story of a little girl left behind in a department store is a very engaging start, half way through the book though, the innumerable characters and their minute descriptions of every single thing they do or think becomes trying and irrelevant to what I thought to be the main story...it turns out this is a book about three different people. And how their lives interject. I found it difficult to finish. Just too much unnecessary description and details of irrelevant in and out characters that add nothing to the story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James
  • 04-05-16

Quieky and extremely captivating

Loved it. The narrator captured the characters perfectly.
The story was quite unique in its ability to articulate the characters quirky thoughts and personality traits.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mary
  • 09-05-15

a modern don quixote

A child becomes obsessed with death when her father dies. Her mother sbandons her and this is the story of her search for her mother in the company of two oldies both of whose spouses have died. Its a bizarre tale told through the eyes of the young girl and two oldies who are her partners in crime. crazy, wild and sad. l loved the bold and brittle characters. A tragedy set in modern Australia.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kerri
  • 07-29-15

Large women's underwear!

Brilliant story about 3 lost souls and a mannequin learning that trust and togetherness mean everything. It's worth persevering with the narrator's monotone to hear a really lovely tale.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Michele
  • 06-05-15

Not worth the time it took

Kinda quirky but nothing great about this book. Quite disappointing compared to reviews it got