Regular price: $24.47

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A brilliantly written epic tale of a quirky, dysfunctional family in the tradition of The Corrections and The Hotel New Hampshire.

Collie Flanagan was named after his mother's favorite breed of dog. His brother, Bingo, was named for an Irish setter. Their names are the least of their worries because they're Flanagans, members of a wildly wealthy, impossibly articulate family that also includes a philandering father, pigeon-racing uncle, radical activist mother, and domineering media mogul father whose own daughter has accused him of being a murderer.

As Collie searches for his place in the world, somewhere beyond the big, raucous family home on Martha's Vineyard, he suffers insurmountable loss and does his best to be brave as he copes with people he has no choice but to love.

A coming-of-age tale centered on family life, Apologize, Apologize! is full of sparkling prose, surprises, tenderness, and dogs, both real and in name only.

©2009 Elizabeth Kelly (P)2009 HighBridge Company

Critic Reviews

"Meet the Flanagans, a quasifunctional family that might give Jonathan Franzen pause...Kelly is a clever, witty wordsmith with a penchant for apt if over-the-top metaphors that are laugh-out-loud funny." ( Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Robert
  • Laconia, NH, USA
  • 03-23-09

Not very good

My review is based on the first two chapters...that's when I gave up. Cutesy without being funny...boring delivery by narrator although his Irish brogue is OK...neither believable nor interesting

4 of 9 people found this review helpful