adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Sixth Extinction, an urgent, “disturbing, empowering, and essential” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) book about the ways in which chemicals in the modern environment are changing - and endangering - human sexuality and fertility on the grandest scale, from renowned epidemiologist Shanna Swan.

In 2017, author Shanna Swan and her team of researchers completed a major study. They found that over the past four decades, sperm levels among men in Western countries have dropped by more than 50 percent. They came to this conclusion after examining 185 studies involving close to 45,000 healthy men. The result sent shockwaves around the globe - but the story didn’t end there. It turns out our sexual development is changing in broader ways, for both men and women and even other species, and that the modern world is on pace to become an infertile one.

How and why could this happen? What is hijacking our fertility and our health? Count Down unpacks these questions, revealing what Swan and other researchers have learned about how both lifestyle and chemical exposures are affecting our fertility, sexual development - potentially including the increase in gender fluidity - and general health as a species. Engagingly explaining the science and repercussions of these worldwide threats and providing simple and practical guidelines for effectively avoiding chemical goods (from water bottles to shaving cream) both as individuals and societies, Count Down is “staggering in its findings” (Erin Brockovich, The Guardian) and “will serve as an awakening” (The New York Times Book Review).

©2020 Shanna H. Swan. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Count Down

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting, eyeopening and direct science.

Swan makes a solid case for the inevitable decline in reproductive rate - around the globe. From humans to the environment this review spans several angles of a complex problem and makes them relatable to the average reader. Some scientific or psychological knowledge is recommended to really understand the limits and implications of the studies used. Overall, a solid take-away on living clean for a soon-to-be parent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Example of How We Are Poisoning Ourselves

This was a very illuminating book, and shows how we continue to pump destructive chemicals into our environment ... long after we know the harm they are doing.

The only issue I have with the book is Dr. Swan's position that one result of this chemical onslaught -- the drop in fertility that is the focus of the book -- is a catastrophe. I'm one of those people she alludes to in the introduction who believe that on a planet with 7 billion people, headed to 9 or 10 billion, leaving destruction everywhere in our wake, a drop in human fertility ... and thus human numbers ... would be a long overdue and welcome correction to a population that is out of control.

I learned a lot about the science and physiology of human reproduction along the way, as well as how these chemicals can alter our genetic make-up, including gender expression. A very insightful book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrifying book.

About environmental toxins, especially ubiquitous endocrine disruptive compounds, which are progressively ending our reproductive ability.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Take this seriously

Imagine being the child in the womb of a mother exposed to harmful chemicals in our daily lives. That child if male has a higher chance of stillbirth and if he makes it out, has a high change of his genitals being forever messed up or testicular cancer, and many other things. That innocent child has been handed a terrible hand of cards in the game of life. Or imagine a future where humans can no longer reproduce by year 2045. Good luck living in retirement when there's no more younger people to keep society working and chugging along. If anything, you reading this, most likely have abnormal hormon levels, effecting your fertility, sex drive, emotions, muscles and fat levels, cognitive abilities and so on. All thanks to toxins found in our everyday environment. Let's change this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everyone should read

I rarely write reviews, but thought this was important. This book is full of vital information that everyone should know. It is a bit dry, and the performer does not any sense of comedic timing, but the topic should be important to EVERYONE, regardless of your desire to have children. Please read this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read

Beautifully written, yet terrifying. It is a must read for high schoolers and up to retirees. It is the new Silent Spring. We have only this world and we are seriously threatened. Thank you to the author for all you are doing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book is breathtakingly fascinating but the narration is appalling!

Please, please stop using these horrific narrators. I gave up on the audio and bought it in hard copy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The World needs to know about this book!

The biggest problem in the world today and none I know knows about it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

scary but so rings true

important book a must read to preserve your health, if you're willing to take some action

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Depressing, frightening and enlightening

I don't have kids, or want any at my age, but that didn't change the fact that this books was scary for both the future of the human race and the planet's environment.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-28-21

Illuminating

I finished this book in one day. I was hooked from start to finish. shocked by each fact. The truth hurts. Are modern world and living habits. The chemicals we use in are everyday life. pump into the air and sea. Altering are DND and hormones.
The world is in flux. The future of the human race. Is on the line like never before.

This book explains situation. In great detail. The hard steps that must be taken to prevent are extinction.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roberto Zamorano
  • Roberto Zamorano
  • 07-06-21

Wow!

Very hard to listen to the content, but really well written and narrated. Highly recommend! Definitely a must read in our current world.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-02-21

eye opening

as the world seems to normalise mental health and gender issues. this book provides a lot of possible causes. the first step in change is to identify the problem and I hope this book can get that process started.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-22-21

Incredibly insightful and important read

This was an extremely thorough, yet accessible, book addressing a major health crisis. I would thoroughly encourage any health or science interested reader to read this book and spread its message.