Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Big Chicas Don't Cry  By  cover art

Big Chicas Don't Cry

By: Annette Chavez Macias
Narrated by: Vanessa Vasquez, Alessandra Manon, Aida Reluzco, Dani Muñoz
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.50

Buy for $27.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Four cousins navigate love, loss, and the meaning of family over the course of one memorable year in this heartfelt family drama.

Cousins Mari, Erica, Selena, and Gracie are inseparable. They aren’t just family but best friends—sharing secrets, traditions, and a fierce love for their abuelita. But their idyllic childhood ends when Mari’s parents divorce, forcing her to move away. With Mari gone, the girls’ tight-knit bond unravels.

Fifteen years later, Mari’s got the big house and handsome husband, but her life is in shambles. Erica’s boyfriend just dumped her, and her new boss hates her. Selena can’t seem to find her place in the world—not Mexican enough for her family, not white enough for her colleagues. And Gracie is a Catholic school teacher with an all-consuming crush, but she can’t trust herself when it comes to romance.

As rocky as the cousins’ lives have become, nothing can prepare them for the heartbreaking loss of a loved one. When tragedy reunites them, will they remember their abuelita’s lessons about family and forgiveness—or are fifteen years of separation too much to overcome?

©2022 Annette Macias (P)2022 Brilliance Publishing Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic reviews

“A supremely talented quartet of narrators will delight listeners with their vibrant and expressive voices.… Listeners will laugh, cry, and find themselves deeply invested in all four characters. The four narrators ably pronounce Spanish words, adding to the authenticity of this beautiful story. They excel as individuals but also as an ensemble, placing listeners right in the heart of this large, wonderful family.”AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award Winner

“Through heart-to-hearts, good food, and family tradition, the women rebuild their relationship with one another—and with their significant others. Chavez Macias loads her well-rounded story with charismatic characters, vivid descriptions, and appealing cultural specificity. This is a treat.”Publishers Weekly

“[Annette] Chavez Macias has given readers a joyful exploration of family and friendship featuring four memorable characters whose struggles and triumphs will resonate with readers. It’s a great choice for fans of Susan Mallery and Mariah Stewart.”Booklist

Featured Article: The Best Latino Audiobooks to Celebrate Latino & Hispanic Heritage Month


Celebrate Latino & Hispanic Heritage Month with our list of incredible audiobooks from Latino authors. These bestsellers, hidden gems, and stand-out stories celebrate the many voices, places and traditions that make Latino and Hispanic culture. From Miami to Cuba, New York City to Mexico, these varied stories paint a beautiful picture of what it means to be Hispanic - no matter where you live.