New York Times Best Sellers

A list of best-selling books in the United States, compiled by The New York Times.

Paperback Fiction

Top 15
    • Before We Were Yours

    • A Novel
    • By: Lisa Wingate
    • Narrated by: Emily Rankin, Catherine Taber
    • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 51,112
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 46,483
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 46,320

    Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I was rivetted, finished in three days.

    • By Lin Cloward on 06-26-17

    Regular price: $35.00

    • Little Fires Everywhere

    • By: Celeste Ng
    • Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
    • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 31,549
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28,440
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 28,410

    A riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Boring and Drawn Out!!!

    • By M. Ryder on 10-05-17

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Tattooist of Auschwitz

    • A Novel
    • By: Heather Morris
    • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
    • Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 10,215
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 9,349
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 9,304

    This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov - an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • A hopeful perspective on a harrowing time

    • By melyssa57 (A Page Before Bedtime dot com) on 10-10-18

    Regular price: $23.95

    • The Reckoning

    • A Novel
    • By: John Grisham
    • Narrated by: Michael Beck
    • Length: 17 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 15,066
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 13,643
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 13,606

    Pete Banning was Clanton's favorite son, a returning war hero, the patriarch of a prominent family, a farmer, a father, a neighbor, and a faithful member of the Methodist church....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • different

    • By Kelly on 10-29-18

    Regular price: $31.50

    • Good Omens

    • By: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
    • Narrated by: Martin Jarvis
    • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29,493
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 25,942
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 25,960

    The world will end on Saturday. Next Saturday. Just before dinner, according to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Satisfyingly Hilarious

    • By FernT on 09-27-11

    Regular price: $30.79

    • The Outsider

    • By: Stephen King
    • Narrated by: Will Patton
    • Length: 18 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41,301
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37,803
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37,633

    An 11-year-old boy's violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City's most popular citizens....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Unlistenable

    • By Dan Milano on 07-03-19

    Regular price: $34.99

    • The President Is Missing

    • By: Bill Clinton, James Patterson
    • Narrated by: Dennis Quaid, January LaVoy, Peter Ganim, and others
    • Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 14,708
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 13,467
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 13,422

    How could a US president vanish without a trace? And why would he choose to do so? Find out....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Wanted it to be so much better

    • By K. Moeller on 06-18-18

    Regular price: $30.79

    • The Woman in the Window

    • A Novel
    • By: A. J. Finn
    • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
    • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 23,056
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 21,186
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 21,137

    For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • An excruciating listen.

    • By Debra on 01-12-18

    Regular price: $34.22

    • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

    • A Novel
    • By: Gail Honeyman
    • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40,898
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 37,738
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37,588

    Meet Eleanor Oliphant: She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she's thinking....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Completely fine? No... Completely AWESOME

    • By Janna on 07-15-17

    Regular price: $28.00

    • A Gentleman in Moscow

    • A Novel
    • By: Amor Towles
    • Narrated by: Nicholas Guy Smith
    • Length: 17 hrs and 52 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 25,406
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 23,531
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 23,447

    In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A Reprieve Amidst Ugly News, Relentless Negativity

    • By Cathy Lindhorst on 08-27-17

    Regular price: $35.00

    • Long Road to Mercy

    • By: David Baldacci
    • Narrated by: Brittany Pressley, Kyf Brewer
    • Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 8,186
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7,450
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 7,405

    Introducing a remarkable new character from number-one New York Times best-selling writer David Baldacci: Atlee Pine, an FBI agent with special skills assigned to the remote wilds of the southwestern United States who must confront a new threat - and an old nightmare....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Damn, Baldacci is good!

    • By Wayne on 11-14-18

    Regular price: $30.79

    • The Overstory

    • By: Richard Powers
    • Narrated by: Suzanne Toren
    • Length: 22 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,932
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,782
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,784

    The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fable that range from antebellum New York to the late 20th-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Could Not Stay With Narration

    • By Kate on 10-09-18

    Regular price: $41.99

    • The Handmaid's Tale: Special Edition

    • By: Margaret Atwood, Valerie Martin - essay
    • Narrated by: Claire Danes, full cast, Margaret Atwood
    • Length: 12 hrs and 6 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 26,788
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24,644
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24,573

    After a violent coup in the United States overthrows the Constitution and ushers in a new government regime, the Republic of Gilead imposes subservient roles on all women....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • WAIT WAIT WAIT WAIT WAIT

    • By ambER on 04-20-17

    Regular price: $29.95

    • Big Little Lies

    • By: Liane Moriarty
    • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
    • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 46,923
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 42,184
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 42,106

    Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare, but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Oh, Calamity!

    • By L. O. Pardue on 10-07-14

    Regular price: $28.00

    • There There

    • A Novel
    • By: Tommy Orange
    • Narrated by: Darrell Dennis, Shaun Taylor-Corbett, Alma Ceurvo, and others
    • Length: 8 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,328
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,026
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,005

    There There is a wondrous and shattering portrait of an America few of us have ever seen. It's "masterful...white-hot...devastating" (The Washington Post) at the same time as it is fierce, funny, suspenseful, thoroughly modern, and impossible to pause....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A gorgeous, white-hot debut

    • By Kat - Audible on 06-12-18

    Regular price: $24.50