New York Times Best Sellers

A list of best-selling books in the United States, compiled by The New York Times.

Hardcover Fiction

Top 15
    • The Disappeared

    • By: C. J. Box
    • Narrated by: David Chandler
    • Length: 11 hrs and 14 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 684
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 617
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 615

    Wyoming's new governor isn't sure what to make of Joe Pickett, but he has a job for him that is extremely delicate. A prominent female British executive never came home from a high-end guest ranch....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Sheridan takes a lover!

    • By Richard Delman on 04-11-18

    Regular price: $27.99

    • Red Alert

    • By: Marshall Karp, James Patterson
    • Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini
    • Length: 7 hrs and 11 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 254
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 227
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 226

    The richest of New York's rich gather at the Pierre's Cotillion Room to raise money for those less fortunate. The mayor - with Detectives Zach Jordan and Kylie MacDonald of the elite NYPD Red task force providing security - is on hand to applaud the Silver Bullet Foundation....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Good book, good series Excellent Narrator!

    • By shelley on 03-27-18

    Regular price: $30.79

    • Accidental Heroes

    • By: Danielle Steel
    • Narrated by: Jim Frangione
    • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 224
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 203
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 202

    A decorated former air force pilot. A pregnant flight attendant. A dedicated TSA agent. The fates of these three, and many others, converge in Danielle Steel's heart-stopping thriller....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Converted Danielle Steel Fan

    • By donnacdavis on 04-02-18

    Regular price: $20.99

    • The Great Alone

    • By: Kristin Hannah
    • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
    • Length: 15 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8,159
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 7,478
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7,432

    Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile man. When he loses yet another job, he makes an impulsive decision....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Such a talented author and narrator...

    • By Jan on 02-09-18

    Regular price: $31.49

    • To Die but Once

    • A Maisie Dobbs Novel
    • By: Jacqueline Winspear
    • Narrated by: Orlagh Cassidy
    • Length: 10 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 330
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 309
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 308

    Spring 1940. With Britons facing what has become known as "the Bore War" - nothing much seems to have happened yet - Maisie Dobbs is asked to investigate the disappearance of a local lad....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent British historical detective mystery!

    • By Wayne on 03-28-18

    Regular price: $30.79

    • Little Fires Everywhere

    • By: Celeste Ng
    • Narrated by: Jennifer Lim
    • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 10,225
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 9,270
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 9,245

    A riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Boring and Drawn Out!!!

    • By M. Ryder on 10-05-17

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Woman in the Window

    • A Novel
    • By: A. J. Finn
    • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
    • Length: 13 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 8,337
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7,712
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 7,684

    For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts....

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • The worst

    • By pettwdv on 03-09-18

    Regular price: $34.22

    • Before We Were Yours

    • A Novel
    • By: Lisa Wingate
    • Narrated by: Emily Rankin, Catherine Taber
    • Length: 14 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 25,715
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 23,461
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 23,360

    Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I was rivetted, finished in three days.

    • By Lin Cloward on 06-26-17

    Regular price: $35.00

    • The Punishment She Deserves

    • A Lynley Novel
    • By: Elizabeth George
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 22 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 478
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 443
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 436

    Elizabeth George returns with another character-driven crime drama featuring beloved characters Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Hurrah! Elizabeth George Is Back in Top Form!

    • By Mark on 03-28-18

    Regular price: $38.50

    • The Escape Artist

    • By: Brad Meltzer
    • Narrated by: Scott Brick, January LaVoy
    • Length: 12 hrs and 44 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,693
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,551
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1,547

    Who is Nola Brown? Nola is a mystery. Nola is trouble. And Nola is supposed to be dead....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Not His Best

    • By Amazon Customer on 03-10-18

    Regular price: $29.65

    • The Rising Sea

    • The NUMA Files, Book 15
    • By: Clive Cussler, Graham Brown
    • Narrated by: Scott Brick
    • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 646
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 575
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 571

    Everywhere, the waters are rising - and that is just the beginning of the world's peril, unless the NUMA crew can beat the clock....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Numa

    • By Grandpa Joe on 03-21-18

    Regular price: $31.50

    • An American Marriage (Oprah’s Book Club)

    • A Novel
    • By: Tayari Jones
    • Narrated by: Sean Crisden, Eisa Davis
    • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,382
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,069
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,059

    Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Love Letters To Life and Beyond.

    • By calvin on 02-10-18

    Regular price: $24.49

    • A Gentleman in Moscow

    • A Novel
    • By: Amor Towles
    • Narrated by: Nicholas Guy Smith
    • Length: 17 hrs and 52 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15,358
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 14,236
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 14,200

    In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Brilliant, heartfelt, inspiring

    • By Jon K. Rust on 07-24-17

    Regular price: $35.00

    • Alternate Side

    • By: Anna Quindlen
    • Narrated by: Ellen Archer
    • Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 157
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 149
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 148

    Some days Nora Nolan thinks that she and her husband, Charlie, lead a charmed life - except when there’s a crisis at work, a leak in the roof at home, or a problem with their twins at college. And why not? New York City was once Nora’s dream destination....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • An excellent listen

    • By Irene on 03-27-18

    Regular price: $23.09

    • The Bishop's Pawn

    • By: Steve Berry
    • Narrated by: Scott Brick, Kevin Free, Steve Berry
    • Length: 23 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 227
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 217
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 213

    History recalls that the ugly feud between J. Edgar Hoover and Martin Luther King, Jr., ended on April 4, 1968, when King was assassinated by James Earl Ray. But that may not have been the case....

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Irreverant Imposition of Character Assasination

    • By William O. Crabbe on 03-25-18

    Regular price: $27.99