Kingdom on Fire

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 320 ratings

A Shadow Bright and Burning Publisher's Summary

I am Henrietta Howel.

The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.

The prophesied one.

Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when, instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city - and the one she loves?

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess' spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettable heroine and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal. For fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.

©2016 Jessica Cluess (P)2016 Listening Library
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • A Shadow Bright and Burning

    • Kingdom on Fire, Book 1
    • By: Jessica Cluess
    • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
    • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 223
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 210
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 210

    Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when, instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers. Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • perfect for this time of year

    • By Roxanne on 10-07-16

    Regular price: $42.00

  • Book 2

    • A Poison Dark and Drowning

    • Kingdom on Fire, Book Two
    • By: Jessica Cluess
    • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
    • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 89
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 88

    Henrietta doesn't need a prophecy to know that she's in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one. Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook's system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A thrilling adventure

    • By McCall on 11-20-17

    Regular price: $38.50

  • Book 3

    • A Sorrow Fierce and Falling

    • Kingdom on Fire, Book Three
    • By: Jessica Cluess
    • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
    • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4

    Henrietta nervously awaits her marriage to Blackwood, but when the ritual to become his bride reveals a dark secret, she realizes Sorrow-Fell is not a safe haven; it's a trap. Convincing the sorcerers of this, however, is not easy. So with Maria, the true chosen one, and Magnus, the young man who once stole her heart, at her side, Henrietta plots a dangerous journey straight into the enemy's lair. Some will live. Some will die. All will be tested.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • epic ending! you will cry, laugh, and be shocked!

    • By TRL on 10-22-18

    Regular price: $38.50