Clash of Eagles Trilogy

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 219 ratings

Clash of Eagles Publisher's Summary

A rising star in the realm of alternate history, Alan Smale delivers fiction of broad sweep and epic scope.

Set in a world in which the Roman Empire never fell, Clash of Eagles finds Praetor Gaius Marcellinus leading his 33rd Legion into Nova Hesperia. But there his conception of the world is challenged by encounters with the Powhatani, Iroqua, and Cahokiani tribes.

©2015 Alan Smale (P)2015 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Clash of Eagles

    • By: Alan Smale
    • Narrated by: Kevin Orton
    • Length: 14 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 108
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 100
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 100

    Set in a world in which the Roman Empire never fell, Clash of Eagles finds Praetor Gaius Marcellinus leading his 33rd Legion into Nova Hesperia. But there his conception of the world is challenged by encounters with the Powhatani, Iroqua, and Cahokiani tribes.

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Good premise, silly story

    • By Carlos on 10-25-17

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 2

    • Eagle in Exile

    • The Clash of Eagles Trilogy, Book II
    • By: Alan Smale
    • Narrated by: Kevin Orton
    • Length: 19 hrs and 25 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 64
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 62

    Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Amazing book!

    • By Craig Thomas on 06-06-17

    Regular price: $38.49

  • Book 3

    • Eagle and Empire

    • The Clash of Eagles Trilogy, Book III
    • By: Alan Smale
    • Narrated by: Kevin Orton
    • Length: 19 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 38
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37

    Tasked with subjugating North America for the Roman Imperium in AD 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus lost his entire legion but gained a powerful sense of purpose in uniting the peoples of the new world. Ending the seasons-old Mourning War between the five nations of the Iroqua and the plains-based Cahokians, Gaius was able to garner an uneasy truce between these united tribes and a Roman war machine hungry for gold and conquest.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • One of the best Alt History novels out there!

    • By Caelin on 05-19-17

    Regular price: $38.49