Your audiobook is waiting…

Eagle in Exile

The Clash of Eagles Trilogy, Book II
Narrated by: Kevin Orton
Length: 19 hrs and 25 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)
Regular price: $38.49
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

In AD 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is tasked with conquering North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or Native.

After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won't stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring the Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

©2016 Alan Smale (P)2016 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fine follow-up audiobook in the series.

I am still eagerly listening to this audiobook series. Again, I highly recommend it. Not sure if I spent a credit or was gratefully supplied a code, so just in case: Now for the obligatory: "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing book!

Great book! there was a point where it was a bit difficult to continue, but overall an amazing continuation to the trilogy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than Volume 1

With characters more developed, and drama developing on a grander scale, Kevin Smale delivers an engaging story with a thought-provoking alt-hist backdrop. On the alt-hist side, my only criticism is that the author seems to assume less cultural change in nearly 800 years of extended Western Roman history than I believe is likely. But that’s a small complaint. And Kevin Orton’s narration is well-delivered if perhaps a wee bit slow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Addicted to the Eagles

Would you consider the audio edition of Eagle in Exile to be better than the print version?

Tough call, it is always nice to add a layer of depth to characters... I do enjoy the presentation.

What did you like best about this story?

This story makes you care about the characters and you cannot help but want more. The characters are deep and complex and demand your attention.

What does Kevin Orton bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He really adds great depth and personality to already great characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • jordan
  • Madison, AL, United States
  • 06-02-16

good fiction/fantasy

if you are wanting perfect what if fiction this book is not it. it is close enough to make the story really enjoyable and the characters are compelling.