Sword of Rome

5 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 32 ratings

Standard Bearer Publisher's Summary

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer is the first book in a series of novellas featuring Lucius Oppius and the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

Britain, 55 BC: Julius Caesar’s invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion - and history.

Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines. His mission is to hunt down a treacherous Roman agent, who is recruiting Britons to fight against the armies of Rome in Gaul. Yet not all is what it seems and Oppius will fight for his life, as well as for Caesar and the glory of Rome, to complete his mission and find his way back home.

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer brings together history and action and adventure in a story which will appeal to fans of both Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

©2013 Richard Foreman (P)2014 Audible Studios
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Standard Bearer

    • Sword of Rome, Book 1
    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
    • Length: 1 hr and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 18
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 16
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 16

    Britain, 55 BC: Julius Caesar’s invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion - and history. Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • To many modern references.

    • By jocko johnson/Victor F. Nico on 03-29-17

    Regular price: $8.25

  • Book 2

    • Alesia

    • Sword of Rome, Book 2
    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
    • Length: 1 hr and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      3 out of 5 stars 5

    Alesia, 52 BC: The besiegers have become the besieged. Caesar's army stands upon the brink of annihilation, caught between two enemy armies. Ramparts have been constructed, but they must also be defended. The centurion Lucius Oppius believes he will be part of the defence, but Caesar has other plans for the former standard bearer. Oppius is ordered to venture north of Alesia to capture Vercingetorix's war chest of gold.

    Regular price: $8.72

  • Book 3

    • Gladiator

    • Sword of Rome, Book 3
    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
    • Length: 1 hr and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Rome, 51 BC: The centurion Lucius Oppius has left the battlefields of Gaul to venture to Rome. But he is about to discover the capital of the Empire can be every bit as dangerous as its provinces. Under orders from Caesar to secure an item of intelligence that will help him become a Consul again, Oppius is manipulated into taking part in a gladiatorial contest. The soldier must not only fight his enemies in the arena however. Marcus Porcius Cato warns "Caesar’s Champion" that victory inside the arena will bring death outside of it.

    Regular price: $8.72

  • Book 4

    • Rubicon

    • Sword of Rome, Book 4
    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
    • Length: 2 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Ravenna, 50BC. Caesar’s forces stand upon the borders of Gaul and Italy. The prospect of a civil war grows ever likelier each day. But for the veteran soldier Lucius Oppius, this may be one conflict too far. With a new lover, he is tempted to end his long military career - and start a new life. But can any man truly be free of his past and who he is? In Rome, Cicero attempts to secure a peace. Against him, a powerful faction in the Senate is bent upon destroying Caesar, for personal and political reasons.

    Regular price: $8.52

  • Book 5

    • Pharsalus

    • Sword of Rome, Book 5
    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Ric Jerrom
    • Length: 1 hr and 59 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Pharsalus, 48 BC: The battle will decide the fate of a civil war and empire. Caesar's forces are outnumbered, but he believes his veterans will not be outmatched. For one veteran, the centurion Lucius Oppius, the battle will be about revenge rather than glory. Oppius has vowed to avenge his father's death. His enemy is Flavius Laco - a former gladiator and an agent of Pompey the Great. Against the backdrop of one of Ancient History's most momentous battles two soldiers will wage their own personal war.

    Regular price: $8.25