When Heaven Spits You Out

2 books in series
0 out of 5 stars Not rated yet

When Heaven Spits You Out, Part 1 Publisher's summary

When Heaven Spits You Out follows the story of Ryan Hanson - a 30-year-old chief editor for a newspaper firm in Boston, Massachusetts. After receiving a letter from his estranged brother - of whom he last saw 12 years earlier - Ryan chooses to write an account of his life growing up under the thumb of an abusive, alcoholic father in the backstreets of 1960's and 70's Baltimore; during the height of its economic stagnation and social upheaval.

Part 1 of the story establishes Ryan's situation as an 11-year-old boy growing up in a deteriorating city, struggling to eke out a life with his mother, Jinny, and his seven-year-old brother, Mark. Life is tough and has very few luxuries, but they survive regardless. However, their woes are further complicated by the misanthropic and hate-filled Simon, who drinks heavily and frequently victimises both his wife and children. It is in this setting that Ryan finds resolve to support and protect his brother from the brunt of his father's wrath, regardless of the pain and mental anguish he himself incurs.

Full of characters to both love and hate, moments of grief and joy, and a marvellous, emotion-grabbing narrative, When Heaven Spits You Out will captivate adults and young listeners age nine and over.

©2019 Ruairidh MacVeigh (P)2020 Ruairidh MacVeigh
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $6.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $6.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $6.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $6.95 or 1 credit