Showing results by narrator "Simon Barber"

Categories

All Categories

6 results
Sort by
    • The Corporation That Changed the World

    • How the East India Company Shaped the Modern Multinational
    • By: Nick Robins
    • Narrated by: Simon Barber
    • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 40
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 38
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 38

    The English East India Company was the mother of the modern multinational. Its trading empire encircled the globe, importing Asian luxuries such as spices, textiles, and teas. But it also conquered much of India with its private army and broke open China's markets with opium. The Company's practices shocked its contemporaries and still reverberate today.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Seems a bit unbalanced and not fully informed

    • By Jeffrey A. Evey on 10-13-18

    Regular price: $24.95

    • The 1st Epistle of Clement to the Corinthians

    • The Early Church Fathers
    • By: St Clement of Rome
    • Narrated by: Simon G Barber
    • Length: 1 hr and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 21
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 20
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 20

    Ever wondered if there were more writings from the first few centuries by Christians? Well the answer is - yes! There is much that the early Christians left us and they are available in this day and time. The New Testament is our rock to stand upon, but there are other works that we can glean from that are filled with godly wisdom and virtue. The 1st Epistle of Clement to the Corinthians is just that kind of work that can further your walk with Christ in this present day.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • only one concern..

    • By JASON BURNETT on 11-21-18

    Regular price: $6.95

    • Sassoon: The Worlds of Philip and Sybil

    • By: Peter Stansky
    • Narrated by: Simon Barber
    • Length: 14 hrs and 17 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Historian Peter Stansky brings siblings, Sir Philip Sassoon and Sybil, and their period into sharp focus. He also explores what their experience reveals about the nature of English life, particularly at the highest reaches, and its relation to wealth, power, politics, Jewishness, and art.... 

    Regular price: $24.95

    • Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

    • By: Larry Correia, Peter Clines, Peter Rawlik, and others
    • Narrated by: Jennifer Van Dyck, Jeff Woodman, Bronson Pinchot, and others
    • Length: 18 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 379
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 344
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 349

    Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. The anthology opens with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson, author of Project Nemesis, the highest selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books - and perhaps even more than those. Then, from New York Times best sellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger-than-life stories.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Mixed Bag of (Mostly) Kaiju Stories

    • By Troy on 10-12-17

    Regular price: $29.95

    • The Demonstration of the Apostolic Preaching

    • An Early Christian Writing
    • By: St. Irenaeus
    • Narrated by: Simon G. Barber
    • Length: 2 hrs and 17 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 15

    One of the great early Christian writings of the second century, The Demonstration of the Apostolic Preaching is a book all true believers can learn from. In writing to his friend, Irenaeus unfolds the Christian faith by quoting extensively from the Old Testament.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • excellent

    • By Sheryle on 05-10-17

    Regular price: $6.95

    • Edward Lucie-Smith: Uncollected Writings - Studies of Western Art

    • Cv/Visual Arts Research, Book 152
    • By: Edward Lucie-Smith
    • Narrated by: Simon Barber
    • Length: 3 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    An anthology of essays and reviews by the eminent art historian and writer, Edward Lucie-Smith. The articles cover a broad span, from the Italian Renaissance of Giotto and Antonello da Messina, Leonardo, and Michelangelo, progressing to Rubens, Velázquez, and Ingres, with essays on William Hogarth, John Constable, and John Everett Millais for British art. With the experience of his landmark publications on modern art, which remain in print, the author sweeps the listener on a fabulous journey of perception.

    Regular price: $14.95