Showing results by author "Maria Tatar (introduction)"

Categories

All Categories

1 results
Sort by
    • The Artificial Silk Girl

    • By: Irmgard Keun, Maria Tatar (introduction), Katharina von Ankum (translator)
    • Narrated by: Erin Mallon
    • Length: 5 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 5

    In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty.

    Regular price: $19.95