Showing results by author "Maria Tatar (introduction)"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • Eight Stories

    • Tales of War and Loss
    • By: Erich Maria Remarque, Larry Wolff - introduction, Maria Tatar - introduction
    • Narrated by: Andrew Garman
    • Length: 3 hrs and 6 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    German-American novelist Erich Maria Remarque captured the emotional anguish of a generation in his World War I masterpiece, All Quiet on the Western Front, as well as in an impressive selection of novels, plays, and short stories. This exquisite collection revives Remarque’s unforgettable voice, presenting a series of short stories that have long ago faded from public memory. Eight Stories offers a beautiful tribute to the pain that war inflicts on soldiers and civilians alike, and resurrects the work of a master author whose legacy will endure for generations to come.

    Regular price: $13.99

    • The Artificial Silk Girl

    • By: Irmgard Keun, Maria Tatar (introduction), Katharina von Ankum (translator)
    • Narrated by: Erin Mallon
    • Length: 5 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 10
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 9
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7

    In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty.

    Regular price: $19.95