Showing results by author "Don Breithaupt"


All Categories

1 results
Sort by
    • Steely Dan's Aja (33 1/3 Series)

    • By: Don Breithaupt
    • Narrated by: Victor Bevine
    • Length: 2 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 24
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 22
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 23

    Aja was the album that made Steely Dan a commercial force on the order of contemporaries like Fleetwood Mac, the Eagles and Chicago. A double-platinum, Grammy-winning best seller, it lingered on the Billboard charts for more than a year and spawned three hit singles. Odd, then, that its creators saw it as an "ambitious, extended" work, the apotheosis of their anti-rock, anti-band, anti-glamour aesthetic. Populated by 35 mostly jazz session players, Aja served up prewar song forms, mixed meters and extended solos to a generation whose idea of pop daring was Paul letting Linda sing lead once in a while.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • You Better Know Music Theory

    • By Guy on 10-14-12

    Regular price: $6.95