Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, beginning a new story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger). 

Picking up where Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.  

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?  

Best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

©2018 John Flanagan (P)2018 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    280
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    289
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    258
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Half a book!

Love the series but this one is somewhat disappointing it ends half way through the story. Not even a partial resolve leading up to the chase book that often comes with the ranger stories.

And no suprizes in the plot to speak of.

If you haven't bought it yet wait for the next books release before you get stuck waiting for an ending.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little disappointed

I’ve been listening to this series for over 6 years. This is the first time I thought John Flanagan dropped the ball. One of the things that’s beginning to bother me is the increase of conversations with the horses. I know I know I like some of it too but a 1/4 of the dialogue came from the rangers just talking to the horses!
Anyway I’m just not crazy about the way he wrote this one. Just doesn’t feel right and totally made me raise an eyebrow a few times. Cliffhangers ok when you do it right but this didn’t even land in a spot that makes sense. I’m not saying don’t listen to it! But be prepared for a weird ending!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Greg D
  • United States
  • 09-09-18

this is only half a book.

if you're going to charge full price for a book you should tell the full story. There is nothing worse than investing time and money into a book only to hear the words to be continued at the end. I don't mind a story continuing along in a series but this is ridiculous. There is absolutely no reason to end this book where you did other than pure greed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

only half a story

wish I would of known only 1/2 of story I would of waited till next book was out

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Time to wait

If you notice the only thing people can say about the book negatively is that it ends on a to be continued. Lets be honest, when it comes to a series like this it is always a good thing to know more books are on the way, especially when pt 1 is the same length as a typical rangers apprentice.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • lmzrj
  • PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
  • 01-08-19

Very Disappointing

The Royal Apprentice series books have been incredible disappointing – instead of cunning “bad guys” and using character training and tactical skills to defeat the “bad guys” it comes down to buffoonery by the main characters to create tension and the desired situations the author wanted set up. The only ones who don’t look like buffoons are members of the Brother Band. I figured somethings were too obvious and predictable to actually come to pass in the book, but the author, after contriving blunders by the main characters and other “reasons”, actually forces them into fruition. Many words are sometimes used to try justifying a certain action, or lack of action, by the characters. Tactical strategy is very weak in this one. Since when did strangers know an area better than someone who grew up in the area, so that the latter gets lost, while the former have no problems? Overall, I loved the earlier Rangers Apprentice, Brother Band, and Early Years books (a few cringe-worthy sections, but mostly very engaging and creative story-telling), but the last Brother Band, and Royal Ranger books increasingly leave me cringing and scratching my head in bafflement.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cliffhanger

Arg! I want the next installment now! John Flanagan, why do you torture us?
More, please sir, I want some more.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 12-07-18

Disappointed - Missing the end!!!

This is a chapter book without all the chapters. Was the author not finished with the book? Why publish a partial book?
I was enjoying the narrator and the book had enough perils and interesting characters. I just hate partial stories in the guise of a full book.

I may not ever choose this author again because of this. This was my first book by John Flanagan. Does he always leave with the story unresolved?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Continued story

This 2nd book of the Royal Ranger begins a new epic adventure for the Rangers as the first female ranger continues in her young career. I have hopes that as this series progresses, it becomes as rich of a story as the original Ranger's Apprentice did. While I do miss those characters from before, and would like to see them intertwined more in this series, we now focus on Maddie and her career as a Ranger. As with the other series, story arcs do not end at the end of a book, so we have yet to see how this story will end. I am looking forward to continuing this path. #fantasy #endearing #Tagsgiving #Sweepstakes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great book, needs more Will

Great story and I do love the Maddie character but I would have liked Will to play more of a role. cannot wait for the conclusion