Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, beginning a new story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger). 

Picking up where Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.  

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?  

Best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

©2018 John Flanagan (P)2018 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    223
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    234
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    205
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Half a book!

Love the series but this one is somewhat disappointing it ends half way through the story. Not even a partial resolve leading up to the chase book that often comes with the ranger stories.

And no suprizes in the plot to speak of.

If you haven't bought it yet wait for the next books release before you get stuck waiting for an ending.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little disappointed

I’ve been listening to this series for over 6 years. This is the first time I thought John Flanagan dropped the ball. One of the things that’s beginning to bother me is the increase of conversations with the horses. I know I know I like some of it too but a 1/4 of the dialogue came from the rangers just talking to the horses!
Anyway I’m just not crazy about the way he wrote this one. Just doesn’t feel right and totally made me raise an eyebrow a few times. Cliffhangers ok when you do it right but this didn’t even land in a spot that makes sense. I’m not saying don’t listen to it! But be prepared for a weird ending!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Greg D
  • United States
  • 09-09-18

this is only half a book.

if you're going to charge full price for a book you should tell the full story. There is nothing worse than investing time and money into a book only to hear the words to be continued at the end. I don't mind a story continuing along in a series but this is ridiculous. There is absolutely no reason to end this book where you did other than pure greed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

only half a story

wish I would of known only 1/2 of story I would of waited till next book was out

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Continued story

This 2nd book of the Royal Ranger begins a new epic adventure for the Rangers as the first female ranger continues in her young career. I have hopes that as this series progresses, it becomes as rich of a story as the original Ranger's Apprentice did. While I do miss those characters from before, and would like to see them intertwined more in this series, we now focus on Maddie and her career as a Ranger. As with the other series, story arcs do not end at the end of a book, so we have yet to see how this story will end. I am looking forward to continuing this path. #fantasy #endearing #Tagsgiving #Sweepstakes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great book, needs more Will

Great story and I do love the Maddie character but I would have liked Will to play more of a role. cannot wait for the conclusion

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grrrr<br />

always love cliff hangers. good book over all and love the series. just why leave it on a cliff hangers!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome! but it is a part one of two. Ugh!

OK, only have to wait till Dec 3. to find out what happens. Counting the days...

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A “To be continued” cliffhanger. ☹️

OK, I gave the story three stars even though it was a pretty good book. I just hate it when you get to the end of the book and all of a sudden it just chops off with a “to be continued.” I realize that sometimes books get a bit long, but I think there are places to break them up that make more sense and are less jarring.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So so love!

So so love that John has written a book starring females. It is a delightful read, exciting & unexpected at times. can't wait for the next one!