• The Missing Husband

  • DCI Hanlon, Book 3
  • By: Alex Coombs
  • Narrated by: Helen Keeley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (34 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Missing Husband  By  cover art

The Missing Husband

By: Alex Coombs
Narrated by: Helen Keeley
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A security officer is assassinated. A small child grieves for his father. A psychopath commits their first crime....

A frightened Russian woman seeks DCI Hanlon's help in finding her missing husband. Hanlon's not keen on the case. Until she hears a name she recognises only too well. Arkady Belanov, sadistic owner of an exclusive brothel in Oxford is involved.

And when DCI Enver Demirel, her former partner and friend, disappears, Hanlon is determined to solve the case.

Forced into an uneasy alliance with the London underworld, the race to him from the blood-stained hands of the Russian mafia is underway...

Another gripping case for the unstoppable DCI Hanlon. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Mark Dawson.

This book was previously published as A Hard Woman To Kill by Alex Howard.

©2021 Alex Coombs (P)2021 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Missing Husband

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What the heck!!!!

The third book was "Buried for Good", which I enjoyed. Also it developed the main character Hanlon who seemed one dimensional, unrelated in the previous books. I found myself invested in her because parts of her life were opened up. She found herself with a dog that to her surprised opened up her heart . She also found herself falling for a man.
So I went to the next book.. this one perplexed that it didn't continue where the other left off . None of it happened. And it says it's the 3rd book also.
Dissatisfied..confused

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I. M. Forrest
  • I. M. Forrest
  • 11-09-21

Irritating narrator

A lively yarn spoiled by a hesitant, peculiarly spasmodic presentation. Also a certain ignorance of common terms. A Massey Ferguson is pronounced as spelt; it's not a "Macy" Ferguson, and an Islay malt comes from Islay, pronounced I-lay, not Iss-lay - to mention just two. The other narrator of the Alex Coombs books is miles better.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-23-22

What happened??

I need to write this at chapter 17! I loved the first two books and the narrator was amazing, hadn’t enjoyed two books as much, since reading DCI Ryan books by LJ Ross. But this book has lost me to the rest of series, I’m afraid. Bloody awful so far! Hanlon has completely lost her attraction for me, I can’t take her character or the book seriously with this narrator, and I’m so bored with the storyline I don’t think I can continue to listen, I’m already skipping forward every 10mins or so. Not a good sign!!
PLEASE WARN READERS THEY’RE CHANGING THE NARRATORS! This really changes the personality of the main and central character/s.
first two books great! And were free. This book I used a credit for, and feel cheated!! Such a shame as I was looking forward to completing the whole series.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam Hall
  • Sam Hall
  • 11-27-22

I love DCI Hanlon

She’s a hard case for sure, but she’s usually on the side of right. Great romp with lots of edge of seat moments. An enjoyable read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scaryh
  • Scaryh
  • 11-20-22

Just love Alex Coombes and Hamlin

I have now read every one of these books. Absolutely brilliant writing, addictive, great story lines, and so well narrated! Cannot recommend these enough. I am typical of so many readers in that I used to read the same authors, the free books audible gives you occasionally has introduced me to so many new authors and characters! But this is by far my favourite! Love, love, love it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for yamahajacks
  • yamahajacks
  • 07-27-22

awesome as ever

love Hanlon and surrounding characters- a right gripping read as ever- brb ordering the next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suz
  • Suz
  • 06-02-22

Entertaining

I still can’t get over my disappointment that Handlen PI is totally forgotten in this series.

But this book is entertaining enough

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Micky
  • Micky
  • 04-27-22

Brilliant.

Loved it and all of Alex Coombs books. He's characters are interesting and relatable.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Derbyshire
  • Helen Derbyshire
  • 03-17-22

Great novel.

Yet again the novel was spoilt by bad narration. Unnatural gaps within sentences, not in line with the punctuation. Bad pronunciation. Other Alex Coombes novels have been enjoyable with a different narrator. Shame really as the plot and storyline is not being represented to it's best.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS SARAH FINLAY
  • MRS SARAH FINLAY
  • 03-02-22

Narration!

I'm only on chapter 5 and will peservere but.....
I purchased this book expecting it to be book 3 of the PI Hanlon series and having listened to the wonderful narration from those audible versions.
The narration of the PI series flowed wonderfully and really captured the characters and pace of the stories.
Unfortunately this isn't the case for the DCI series. Already I feel I'll need to replay chapters as the narration looses the characters within its story telling. The pace of narration doesn't match the content, emphasising the wrong parts and I have to really concentrate to follow whether is it narration or a characters thought. Such a shame as I really enjoyed Hanlon as a character....I'll head back to the PI series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J mcafee
  • J mcafee
  • 02-26-22

Great fun

Great story would highly recommend and I felt the narrative gave the same Great atmosphere as the previous book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-25-22

Not the best Hanlon book

I've listened to 5 other Hanlon books, have loved them all, but this one..it dragged on with too much irrelevant detail about characters that didn't matter. I really struggled to keep listening,, it just didn't hold me interest as much as the other books did.