Your audiobook is waiting…

The Drowned Man

Cherringham. A Cosy Crime Series - Mystery Shorts 29
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 44 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (253 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Accidents happen to Charley Clutterbuck. Always just scraping by, living on his ramshackle boat, not above the dodgy deal here and there... So when his body is found floating down river, accidental drowning seems the logical conclusion. But Charley's pal Ray thinks it's murder. And when Jack and Sarah get involved... they find themselves facing an unexpected danger as they uncover the strange truth.

Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    208
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Still Enjoyable

I have listened to the full series and still enjoy the storyline, narration, and lighthearted nature of the series. Looking forward to more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable series

As always, such a pleasure to listen to. Fantastic and very likeable chatacters, great story, wonderful narrator, what else can one ask for? I always love it when Ray is involved, such a dogey but fun character , and Neil nailed it perfectly acting Ray.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ISSUE WITH AUDIO SKIPPING

Performance by narrator always great, story line also good. however with all the CHERRINGHAM audibles I have purchased, this one is te only disappointment and was more due to the skipping quality of the audio. It was quite irksome to have the audio jump or cut off the odd word here and there. Otherwise, this would be a good experience. I love the Cherringham mysteries.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One more good one

I looked forward to this new addition and was not disappointed. Continuing to enjoy these old friends and their story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-10-19

Yet another cracker

Brilliant as always , good story easy listening & makes you feel involved as one of the characters

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevelyan
  • Trevelyan
  • 08-18-19

Perfect!

As always, a totally perfect visit to Cherringham. My only criticism is the occasional use of American vocabulary which grates when listening to a story set in the Cotswolds but I did not subtract a star as I understand this series is probably being sold to an American market too. I do hope this doesn't become too frequent however.
Wonderful narration by Neil Dudgeon as always!