We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Edgeland Audiobook

Edgeland

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An upper-middle grade thriller by the New York Times best-selling Nightfall authors - perfect for fans of James Dashner's Maze Runner books.

Thousands of miles south of the island of Bliss, day and night last for 72 hours. Here is one of the natural wonders of this world: a whirlpool 30 miles wide and 100 miles around. This is the Drain. Anything sucked into its frothing, turbulent waters is never seen again.

Wren has spent most of her life on Edgeland, a nearby island where people bring their dead to be blessed and prepared for the afterlife. There the dead are loaded into boats with treasure and sent over the cliff, and into the Drain. Orphaned and alone, Wren dreams of escaping Edgeland, and her chance finally comes when furriers from the Polar north arrive with their dead - and treasure for their dead.

With the help of her friend Alec, Wren plans to loot one of the boats before it enters the Drain. But the boat - with Alec and Wren onboard - is sucked into the whirlpool. What they discover beyond the abyss is beyond what anyone could have imagined.

Includes an original song written and performed by Celia Rose.

©2017 Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (P)2017 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carol Hajek 05-30-17
    Carol Hajek 05-30-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exciting Fantasy Story!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I would definitely recommend this book, as it was recommended to me. Although the book was meant for younger readers, I think it is a very intriguing read or audiobook listen for all ages.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The story of Wren and her friend Alex, both 12 years of age, started off slowly, but in no time took off in a whirlwind of of twists and turns. Circumstances of being separated from parents and having to fend for themselves, quickly becomes a story of survival, dependency on one another, trust, and loyalty for these two friends when they encounter another dimension, that of the afterlife.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    My favorite scene was when Wren and Alex, defying all odds, muster the strength and determination to find Wren's deceased mother, who they bring back to life for a while, and Wren receives the information she desperately needs to know.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Actually, both. The plot was always so intriguing, wanting the reader/listener to find out more. It really brought out an array of emotions. The book was so well written with such fascinating depth, making the unreal almost seem real.


    Any additional comments?

    I so think the narrator deserves a lot of credit for her delivery of this suspenseful, all enveloping, thought challenging fantasy. Ms Vacker truly made the story come to life with the various emotions and voices of the characters involved. Her voice was so pleasant, and flowed as she interpreted the story, made it so easy to imagine the plot as it unfolded. I also loved the beautiful song at the end of the book. The young lady had a beautiful voice, and the song was the perfect ending to this fantasy adventure.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.