Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Stray Dogs  By  cover art

Stray Dogs

By: Freya Faust
Narrated by: Danny Montooth,Aida Reluzco
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The Burke siblings are damn good at what they do. And what they do? Well that isn’t any good at all. As wet work operators for the Order of Magic, the Burkes pay a high price to use their magic. For years, they threw themselves into the Order’s dirty work, cleaning up messes that the Nine liked to pretend didn’t exist. But all that has changed. Someone in Black Ops has decided that the Burke siblings are a liability. And when the Order’s most accomplished killer comes after them, it doesn’t take an elementalist to figure out they’ve been burned. Old friends won’t take their calls, so the Burkes turn to an old enemy instead—a shape-shifter whose quicksilver support leads to a transformation in Ed and a showdown well above Des’ weight class....

Stray Dogs is a queer author’s love letter to urban fantasy, for fans of Supernatural, Gideon the Ninth, and The Umbrella Academy.

©2020 Freya Faust (P)2023 Freya Faust

What listeners say about Stray Dogs

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This Book Caught Me by Surprise

I enjoyed Stray Dogs by Freya Faust quite a bit. It's set in a contemporary urban setting and follows two brothers, who are off-the-book enforcers (and need be assassins), for a clandestine magical organization. They are contacted to reign in rouge Magicians who could potentially cause harm to the unaware, non-magical population. The world-building is gradual and novel. As this world unfolds, characters and the world they inhabit become increasingly defined and I found myself interested in both. The main characters are two brothers who have elevated peevish witticisms, irreverence to the world around them, sarcastic zingers, and brotherly banter to an art form.

One of the main characters makes a gender transition. Trans characters are often over-sexualized, objectified, victimized, or otherwise messed-up. Here Faust presents a strong and engaging character and keeps the focus on the character’s discovery of and acceptance of her identity. Likewise, her brother's trepidation about and reaction to her transition ultimately focused on the strength of their relationship. I appreciated what the author has done here.

The narrative is first-person, switching between the brothers' point of view chapter to chapter. Supporting characters are fully flushed out and play an integral role in the story. The plot follows the brothers as they escalate from the bottom rungs of their magical society, through a series of misadventures, betrayals, and conspiracies, to the upper echelons of leadership. Every time I sat the book down, I found myself wanting to come back to it. I am looking forward to reading other books from Freya Faust.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance