adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A cold-case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.

It’s been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones - along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs - Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.

Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name - or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffani, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who recently returned to Freeport.

As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick - and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

©2020 Jennifer Graeser Dornbush (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Secret Remains

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    513
  • 4 Stars
    182
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    504
  • 4 Stars
    143
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    454
  • 4 Stars
    168
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hoping for a 3rd book

love love love Hope there is a 3rd book . need to hear more. please

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 03-13-20

Loved the first book 2nd disappointing

With the background of Dr Emily Hartford: knowledge of her father's cases and how he handled them, her intelligence as evidenced by scholarships and recognition of talent, her years of medical training plus longstanding relationship with a former FBI agent, the author has her making many amazingly ridiculous choices. As an avid fan of detective, police and attorney books I found the situations and events poorly researched. I really dislike seeing an intelligent female character put into situations that seem outside her character just to add some new, undeveloped material to a book. To me, this took much away from a potentially good story base.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Series of 2

Enjoyed this series of 2 books, and it ends in a way that others may follow. Interesting enough to keep me listening, but I do dislike authors that make women sound stupid in their actions, rather than finding themselves in a situation because of curiosity or by way of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I think the intention is to convey a head strong, courageous will, but it isn't how I read it. Overall, I enjoyed the story, though I find myself grating my teeth when the female character has no well thought out plan prior to finding herself in a dangerous situation.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not nearly as good as the first.

This one was just average, nothing special. I really enjoyed the first book, but this one was just not very interesting or suspenseful.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This needed an editor

There were some inconsistencies in the story. Also several times that I thought “this doesn’t make sense!”

Although I had a few issues with the first book, I wanted to give the author another chance. Disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice storyline can’t wait for more!

I really like the character development over the course of these 2 books. I am excited for the author to write more in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so glad I found this series.

this series is great and so is the narrator. I would suggest it to anyone

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Nancy Drew Mystery for adults.....

This is too formulaic and reminds me of the Nancy Drew Mysteries I read as a young girl - complete with Nancy, Ned, Jo and Bess - only the names have changed. Not terrible, but definitely not riveting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book worth the listen

I enjoyed this book just about as much as I enjoyed the Coroner. It is sad that there are no more in the series to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RC
  • 05-04-21

Enjoyable

I enjoyed this book and her previous one. They were both well written and read.