Secret Remains

The Coroner's Daughter Mysteries, Book 2
Narrated by: Sophie Amoss
Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (199 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A cold-case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.

It’s been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones - along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs - Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.

Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name - or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffani, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who recently returned to Freeport.

As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick - and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

©2020 Jennifer Graeser Dornbush (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice storyline can’t wait for more!

I really like the character development over the course of these 2 books. I am excited for the author to write more in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so glad I found this series.

this series is great and so is the narrator. I would suggest it to anyone

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 03-13-20

Loved the first book 2nd disappointing

With the background of Dr Emily Hartford: knowledge of her father's cases and how he handled them, her intelligence as evidenced by scholarships and recognition of talent, her years of medical training plus longstanding relationship with a former FBI agent, the author has her making many amazingly ridiculous choices. As an avid fan of detective, police and attorney books I found the situations and events poorly researched. I really dislike seeing an intelligent female character put into situations that seem outside her character just to add some new, undeveloped material to a book. To me, this took much away from a potentially good story base.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really a good read!

Riveting plot line, lots of twists and turns and at times quite emotionally compelling. Cliffhanger ending so I have to wait for the next book. This, like the first book is so well written that I want the next book now.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not nearly as good as the first.

This one was just average, nothing special. I really enjoyed the first book, but this one was just not very interesting or suspenseful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story

Overall I really liked this book and hope there is a third book. I love that Emily is a strong female who can make decisions for herself. She has realistic adult relationships. I appreciate that the story takes place over several weeks rather than a few days. It make the story more plausible.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This needed an editor

There were some inconsistencies in the story. Also several times that I thought “this doesn’t make sense!”

Although I had a few issues with the first book, I wanted to give the author another chance. Disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I need more!!!!

I couldn’t stop. Finished the book in three days. Even though it had been a while since the last book; it picked up right where it left off. Falling in love with Emily, Freeport’s Sheriff Nick, and the local FBI legend was all too easy. Just enough mystery and action. I need book three to come out way sooner than this one did!!

1 person found this helpful