1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Secret Remains  By  cover art

Secret Remains

By: Jennifer Graeser Dornbush
Narrated by: Sophie Amoss
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A cold-case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.

It’s been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones - along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs - Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.

Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name - or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffani, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who recently returned to Freeport.

As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick - and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

©2020 Jennifer Graeser Dornbush (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Secret Remains

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,630
  • 4 Stars
    740
  • 3 Stars
    173
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    20
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,563
  • 4 Stars
    601
  • 3 Stars
    112
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,304
  • 4 Stars
    710
  • 3 Stars
    188
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    27

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 03-13-20

Loved the first book 2nd disappointing

With the background of Dr Emily Hartford: knowledge of her father's cases and how he handled them, her intelligence as evidenced by scholarships and recognition of talent, her years of medical training plus longstanding relationship with a former FBI agent, the author has her making many amazingly ridiculous choices. As an avid fan of detective, police and attorney books I found the situations and events poorly researched. I really dislike seeing an intelligent female character put into situations that seem outside her character just to add some new, undeveloped material to a book. To me, this took much away from a potentially good story base.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Narcissist main character

I listened to the first book and the main character got on my nerves a little bit but by the second book I was hoping she got killed off. Most selfish, self centered and dumbest know it all ever. The ending felt like it was an opening to a third book however I will not be reading it to find out what stupid situations she gets herself into that makes her man of the moment look like a bumbling idiot.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This needed an editor

There were some inconsistencies in the story. Also several times that I thought “this doesn’t make sense!”

Although I had a few issues with the first book, I wanted to give the author another chance. Disappointed.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Series of 2

Enjoyed this series of 2 books, and it ends in a way that others may follow. Interesting enough to keep me listening, but I do dislike authors that make women sound stupid in their actions, rather than finding themselves in a situation because of curiosity or by way of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I think the intention is to convey a head strong, courageous will, but it isn't how I read it. Overall, I enjoyed the story, though I find myself grating my teeth when the female character has no well thought out plan prior to finding herself in a dangerous situation.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator choice

The narrator does a good job, but her voice does not seem to portray a grown woman in the medical field. Sounds very young.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hoping for a 3rd book

love love love Hope there is a 3rd book . need to hear more. please

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not nearly as good as the first.

This one was just average, nothing special. I really enjoyed the first book, but this one was just not very interesting or suspenseful.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

sponsorship

story was ok, but she should have been arrested of interfering in a Police investigation. and did Nissan sponsor the book? it wasn't 'I ran to my car", it was "I ran to my Nissan Leaf"...EVERY TIME! who does that? struggled to finish it

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so glad I found this series.

this series is great and so is the narrator. I would suggest it to anyone

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nice storyline can’t wait for more!

I really like the character development over the course of these 2 books. I am excited for the author to write more in this series.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-03-22

Good read!

I loved the 1st book very much. This one which follows on, I found myself being frustrated with Emily due to her indecisiveness then realised that she was only like that when it came to her own life choices. Still annoying but a good story if you have to give yourself a talking to about being more understanding...🤔

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Georgie
  • Georgie
  • 06-01-22

Loved the book!

I'm wordless... I thought I knew the end. How wrong I was!!! I hope other books of Emily come to light and she heads back to town as the coroner. Fairly within her own right.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C.J.Aurentium
  • C.J.Aurentium
  • 05-24-22

Good Story

Brilliant story, keeps you gripped from beginning to end. Can't wait for the next books in the series. This would make a great TV drama.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-05-22

A need to keep reading

Really enjoyed this story, after reading the first book in the series. Would definitely recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacky
  • Jacky
  • 11-05-22

Brilliant engaging murder police drama

Wow second book was brilliant too, loved all the forensic work I knew that Nick was innocent but I did end up doubting it a couple of times, engaging enthralling, can't wait to see if there is a third book coming, narration added to the storyline

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lucy loo
  • lucy loo
  • 09-22-22

Wow fantastic

Brilliant sequel to the Coroner, great story well read, hoping there is a next one in the pipeline

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill
  • Jill
  • 09-01-22

Gripping plot

Really enjoyed the story and the narration. Kept me guessing till the very end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeremy Sowter
  • Jeremy Sowter
  • 06-14-22

Secret remains

I really enjoyed this book. Just right. Not too gory. The characters are believable. Nice


  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Cassidy
  • Michael Cassidy
  • 06-12-22

Review

Enjoyed the book as it was easy to listen to, I recommend it as the storyline was good but the coroner got on my nerves a bit, she came across as a bit of a know it all but it was worth a listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JillyB
  • JillyB
  • 04-24-22

Disappointing

Really enjoyed Book 1 so hoped book 2 would be just as good. Nope! Started off very promisingly but fell off a cliff quite dramatically. Our heroine seems to vacillate between a sensible well thought of Surgeon and then acts like some 12 year old suffering her first crush. This is one of the worst books I’ve ever read for police procedure - well what procedure. And she does some unbelievably ridiculous things. Gave up less than a third of the way though. Thanks to Audible for their returns policy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ali baker
  • ali baker
  • 11-19-22

Compelling story beautifully read

The narrators voice is excellent and the story is strong. I Recommend this and the first book in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-13-21

excellent...hope there will be more

hope there will be more in the coroner's daughters series and really grown to like the characters and can see how this will make a great series