Regular price: $30.79

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Mira Grant, author of the renowned Newsflesh series, returns with a novel that takes us to a new world of ancient mysteries and mythological dangers come to life.

The ocean is home to many myths,

But some are deadly....

Seven years ago the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a mockumentary bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others have called it a tragedy.

Now a new crew has been assembled. But this time they're not out to entertain. Some seek to validate their life's work. Some seek the greatest hunt of all. Some seek the truth. But for the ambitious young scientist Victoria Stewart, this is a voyage to uncover the fate of the sister she lost.

Whatever the truth may be, it will be found only below the waves.

But the secrets of the deep come with a price.

More from Mira Grant

Newsflesh

  • Feed
  • Deadline
  • Blackout
  • Feedback

Rise: A Newsflesh Collection

Parasitology

  • Parasite
  • Symbiont
  • Chimera

©2017 Mira Grant (P)2017 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Paranormal/sci-fi storytelling at its very finest

A bunch of scientists on a research vessel above the Mariana Trench, being attacked by killer mermaids? To some it may sound too crazy but know that this is paranormal/sci-fi storytelling at its very finest. There's the familiar nerdiness of sci-fi and the mythical theme of paranormal, but there's also that special something that takes this story from good to great.

I lost track of the number of characters whose thoughts and ideas I got to follow and each of them had their own distinct voice and part in the story. And in the middle of all the action and craziness, there was still room for relationships to grow and moments where I as a reader got to laugh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another excellent story from Mira Grant

Another fascinating story from Mira Grant, pitting men against the ravages of nature. I have a new respect for the ocean and its creatures. The human story that evolves in the midst of this conflict is also satisfyingly intimate and accurate, leaving the reader hopeful for mankind, but also wary of its great weaknesses.

Christine Lakin is a master narrator. Every one of the many characters has a distinct voice and personality. What a delight.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it

Love the dedication to science explanation of the method behind the madness. Both human and those lurking in the deep.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Here there be monsters

The latest work of speculative sci-fi/horror fiction by Mira Grant (aka Seanan McGuire) combines the author's greatest talents for creating near future technology, memorable characters both sympathic and decidedly not, and throwing this mix into the path of a monster with just enough scientific believability to be that much more terrifying.

After a film crew is lost at sea and monstrous footage from the voyage shows a slaughter by creatures that shouldn't exist, a group of scientists sponsored by an entertainment company set forth to find answers to the question of whether mermaids are real. This being a Mira Grant joint, they find much more than they bargained for.

Fans of JURASSIC PARK, THE ABYSS, and thrillers like RELIC will relish the passages where the author indulges in gleeful pulp horror, but there's a sense of wonder, discover, and humanism that elevates this book far above the usual fare. The pace is relentless, the twists delightful, and there's even some surprisingly sweet romance along the way.

And also, killer mermaids. Which are, if possible, even more rad than they sound.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nicole
  • 11-30-17

No Fast Forwarding required

This story kept me hooked, intrigued and in suspense. In my opinion there was none of the contrived character development or fudged fillers. What I did find was interesting backstories to people and plot so wonderfully intertwined into a well written story.

Simply awesome.