adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In 1587, a fleet of English ships set sail for the Virginia colony. During a storm, one ship became separated from the others and was never seen again. The settlers on board were presumed lost at sea, but there is both historical and legendary evidence that the colonists actually founded the Roanoke colony.

Veteran novelist Hunt (Theyn Chronicles) reimagines this slice of Colonial history through the eyes of Jocelyn White, a newlywed reluctant to leave her home in England for the wild shores of the New World. White's journey is fraught with danger, but her dependence on God and God's providence carry her safely through. Hunt's engaging historical romance will appeal to fans of B.J. Hoff and Patricia Hickman. Recommended for most collections.

©2013 Angela Hunt (P)2014 Angela Hunt

What listeners say about Roanoke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Read!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely! The story was based on historical fact, and the characters were so believable.

What did you like best about this story?

The way the narration draws you into the story with the multitude of characters. It really gave you a sense of what it would have been like to walk in the shoes of the early settlers.

Which character – as performed by Lesley Parkin – was your favorite?

All of the characters were so well performed, but I thought Audrey was my favorite.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end of the story, so I don't want to give it away!

Any additional comments?

This was a marvelous book in every way, especially the way the author took the facts and wove such a wonderful tale! The narration was brilliant, with so many character voices!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t finish the book

I wanted to get into this series so much I listened to 30 chapters before I gave up. I listened to another series by this narrator and loved her so much that I gave this one a try. The story dragged on with no hook. There was nothing to hold my attention.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story and loved the narration!

Would you consider the audio edition of Roanoke to be better than the print version?

Yes, definitely.

What other book might you compare Roanoke to and why?

What does Lesley Parkin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Amazing range of voices and great storytelling that really immersed me in the plot.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed listening to this book. Very engaging great narration!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I teach history and love having my students speculate about the gate of the lost colony of Roanoke. I will absolutely share a few ideas from the book with them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ed
  • 07-19-19

Roanoke

very interesting book. I found it interesting. and very well written. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Modernized

I found several modern day themes in this story. While it is difficult to fictionalize history outside our culture and time, some of the character contrasts were stereotypical and stark. The narrator was very good, although other family members thought it was too emotional. I thought it brought more life to the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

terrific

I loved it. can't wait to listen to the rest of the series! great blend of action and drama.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will not disappoint

Historical fiction at its best! Great narration. Hunt has woven history, adventure, love & faith. Highly recommended

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great narration!

Enjoyed the novel, I particularly felt the narraration was helpful to all aspects of the storyline. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.