adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deck chairs, strawberry ice cream...and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case! 

Spring, 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn’t had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business, and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips, and, of course, a dip in the ocean. 

Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: A guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can’t afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime - Gladstone the bulldog - to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.

But when Eleanor enters the dead man’s room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband’s killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside....

A warm and witty whodunit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey, and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed. 

©2021 Verity Bright (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Mystery by the Sea

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karolina N.
  • Karolina N.
  • 05-08-21

Try the series for a great dose of cosy mystery

Having binged on the previous four books, I have clearly noticed, how much have the storytelling improved. I did not love the first book in the series, but I stuck with it and I’m so glad I did. Every next book is better and better, with this one being my favourite so far.

I came to love the endearing characters and the fearless heroine Eleanor. It’s wonderful to have them over (on my speakers) for a cup of tea and a slice of cake. The dialogue is witty and the story is easy to follow.

I also have to commend he performance of Karen Cass! Her voice acting draws you in the story and gives the characters a lot of dimension.

If you’re looking for an easy, cosy and feel-good mystery, definitely try the Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-10-21

it's got everything you want in a book

I love these stories so much it's got little twists it's got everything you need in a 📚

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for noddy
  • noddy
  • 04-17-21

Oh my lady. Yes my lady.

Cliche riddled and lead character talks to herself in third person. Not particularly likeable to me nor the stuffy butler although i guess any butler is good. Narrator accents annoying.
Usually I like a bit of escapism but the cliches just made me realise you can’t always avoid real people with genuine stories and feel good about it. Should have sent it back. Perhaps I’m abit hard on this one