Regular price: $26.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Two thousand people go missing in Alaska every year.

They vanish in the middle of mountain footraces, on fishing boats in the Bering Sea, on small planes in the Bush. Now a geologist known for going walkabout with his rock hammer has disappeared from the Suulutaq Mine in the Park. Was it deliberate? An accident? Foul play? Kate Shugak may be the only person who can find out.

But for the fact that Kate, too, is among the missing....

©2017 Dana Stabenow (P)2017 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Richly nuanced, [and] highly entertaining.... The book is sprinkled with wit, studded with exquisite descriptions of the rugged landscape, and filled with opinionated and endearing characters, including reality TV show producers, park rangers, geologists, and barkeeps." ( Publishers Weekly, starred review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    199
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

about time Kate returned

I was thrilled to have Kate Shugask back in my reading/listening life again. This book was excellent. The naration was,also. No one in my opinion could render Kate and all the characters as well as Margarita Gavin does. The story was very interesting and it was a pleasure to listen to. I hope that Dana Stabenow has decided to keep writing the Kate Shugak books for a long time to come. There are many more stories to tell,I am sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Stevon
  • Tempe, AZ, United States
  • 09-12-17

Kate keeps rolling along

This book is really a continuation of Dana Stabenow's last book, 'Bad Blood'. It likely could have been written as one book or as the second of a sequel. But it did have different crimes to solve so hence we got this book.

In 'Bad Blood' the book ended with Kate and her dog, Mutt, getting shot without any final word and how it turned out for them. Since the series continues it is safe to say Kate survived. As with many of her books the author lays the groundwork with some background on different aspects of Alaska and the characters in her book. But eventually she gets to the crime and you are caught up in the resolution.

I continue to learn more about Alaska through her books. Even those living there get really cold in the winter and don't want to stay outside any longer than they have to. It is mentioned in the story that the elements of Alaska are out to get the people, some because they don't know any better and some that know better and still let Mother Nature get them anyway.

I find myself enjoying this series more the longer I listen to it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Only bad thing...have to wait for another addition...

I truly enjoy Dana Stabenow's writing. From the Alaskan setting to the original storylines, I highly recommend this book and series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Wonderful story- well written and smart.
I missed these characters and hope there is more to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the suspense was killing me right to the last

This was as suspenseful and as good as all the Kate Shugak series! So far I've never been disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kareen
  • Phelan, CA, United States
  • 09-02-17

SO GLAD SHE'S BACK!!

Enjoyed it thoroughly ... so glad she's back, as is Mutt!! Hope more in this series is coming ...I thought it was worth the wait!! Yeah Kate!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great series

Love the narration. Varied w the characters without being cheesy. Nice plot and character development

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the book<br />

we loved Kate's return. we miss Mutt and hope Kate gets one of her pups.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dana is the best!

Always enjoy Dana Stabenow's books. I have read the entire Kate series once and am rereading them for the second time. I have also read all of the Silk books. If there were 50 Kate books, I would have every one of them. Her descriptions of Alaska, the people, Kate, Mutt, Jim and all of the other characters paint a picture you can see in your mind. Your heart really gets involved with the characters, you root for ever faithful Mutt, you cry with Kate when she loses a love, you rejoice when she again falls in love. Book 20 just about killed all of Dana's readers. We bugged her for Book 21, were Kate and Mutt still alive? Was it over? If so, that was a sorry way to send a series. I know Dana must have been pulling her hair out with all of the emails she got, including mine!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ruined by political derangement

I have listened to every book in the series and was a fan up until now. Clearly the author is suffering from the results of the last election. All of the sudden the characters are ranting about political things at every turn. It was annoying, and the rest of the plot felt stale. It’s almost as if the author went back and wrote one more book just for the money, and wanted to get as many digs in as possible against those blamed for all of the ills of the world. I am going to MoveOn and will not be coming back for any subsequent books.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joanna Crowson
  • 05-04-18

Kate is back

Great read, perfect for fans of Kate Shugak, and now I'm back to waiting for the next! The reader did a great job, but if you haven't read the previous book you might be confused at first. Hang on in there and all will become clear.