Your audiobook is waiting…

Less Than a Treason

Kate Shugak, Book 21
Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
Series: Kate Shugak Mystery, Book 21
Length: 7 hrs and 1 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (340 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Two thousand people go missing in Alaska every year.

They vanish in the middle of mountain footraces, on fishing boats in the Bering Sea, on small planes in the Bush. Now a geologist known for going walkabout with his rock hammer has disappeared from the Suulutaq Mine in the Park. Was it deliberate? An accident? Foul play? Kate Shugak may be the only person who can find out.

But for the fact that Kate, too, is among the missing....

©2017 Dana Stabenow (P)2017 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Richly nuanced, [and] highly entertaining.... The book is sprinkled with wit, studded with exquisite descriptions of the rugged landscape, and filled with opinionated and endearing characters, including reality TV show producers, park rangers, geologists, and barkeeps." ( Publishers Weekly, starred review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    224
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    239
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

about time Kate returned

I was thrilled to have Kate Shugask back in my reading/listening life again. This book was excellent. The naration was,also. No one in my opinion could render Kate and all the characters as well as Margarita Gavin does. The story was very interesting and it was a pleasure to listen to. I hope that Dana Stabenow has decided to keep writing the Kate Shugak books for a long time to come. There are many more stories to tell,I am sure.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Stevon
  • Tempe, AZ, United States
  • 09-12-17

Kate keeps rolling along

This book is really a continuation of Dana Stabenow's last book, 'Bad Blood'. It likely could have been written as one book or as the second of a sequel. But it did have different crimes to solve so hence we got this book.

In 'Bad Blood' the book ended with Kate and her dog, Mutt, getting shot without any final word and how it turned out for them. Since the series continues it is safe to say Kate survived. As with many of her books the author lays the groundwork with some background on different aspects of Alaska and the characters in her book. But eventually she gets to the crime and you are caught up in the resolution.

I continue to learn more about Alaska through her books. Even those living there get really cold in the winter and don't want to stay outside any longer than they have to. It is mentioned in the story that the elements of Alaska are out to get the people, some because they don't know any better and some that know better and still let Mother Nature get them anyway.

I find myself enjoying this series more the longer I listen to it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Only bad thing...have to wait for another addition...

I truly enjoy Dana Stabenow's writing. From the Alaskan setting to the original storylines, I highly recommend this book and series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the suspense was killing me right to the last

This was as suspenseful and as good as all the Kate Shugak series! So far I've never been disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Wonderful story- well written and smart.
I missed these characters and hope there is more to come.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kareen
  • Phelan, CA, United States
  • 09-02-17

SO GLAD SHE'S BACK!!

Enjoyed it thoroughly ... so glad she's back, as is Mutt!! Hope more in this series is coming ...I thought it was worth the wait!! Yeah Kate!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great series

Love the narration. Varied w the characters without being cheesy. Nice plot and character development

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dana is the best!

Always enjoy Dana Stabenow's books. I have read the entire Kate series once and am rereading them for the second time. I have also read all of the Silk books. If there were 50 Kate books, I would have every one of them. Her descriptions of Alaska, the people, Kate, Mutt, Jim and all of the other characters paint a picture you can see in your mind. Your heart really gets involved with the characters, you root for ever faithful Mutt, you cry with Kate when she loses a love, you rejoice when she again falls in love. Book 20 just about killed all of Dana's readers. We bugged her for Book 21, were Kate and Mutt still alive? Was it over? If so, that was a sorry way to send a series. I know Dana must have been pulling her hair out with all of the emails she got, including mine!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So mad after Bad Blood held out even starting

This book was good. I was so furious at the ending of Bad Blood (which I thought was a lousy story even before I got to the horrible cliff hanger ending) and angry all over again at HOW LONG it took for a sequel (I feel as if I waited longer than it took to thaw Han Solo in Star Wars!) I was so peeved I didn't buy the sequel right away and let it sit, not wanting another disappointment. FINALLY started it, reading sparingly, and my biggest complaint is the long time it took for Kate to SEE Jim. He was tearing himself apart and she went off on her own (which he respected) but when she finally came back she didn't bother with him -- didn't even return the call he finally made to her phone. I was very happy when they got back together but I didn't need the torture of waiting any more than Jim did. I'm normally on the woman's side, but not this time. Not at all. Oh, the case(s) -- totally uninteresting. All my focus was on Kate and Jim. Not the sex. The LOVE. (At least on his side.) The cases were superfluous. Even the return of Erland Bannister (out of jail, 500 million in resources & ill -- let's hope he dies soon -- and with a new employee: Jane Morgan, Jack's ex-wife) took a backseat to the reunion of Kate & Jim.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great wrap up

I think most Kate fans have been waiting a long time to find out what happened to her and Mutt. By the time I finished I realized (for me) that the story about the murders was really a vessel to bring "everything Kate" to a satisfying conclusion. Even if Dana Stabenow doesn't have another Kate book (and from everything I read it seems she was reluctant to write this one), I feel this a good conclusion to the series. I enjoyed the narration immensely and Ms Stabenow's writing was engrossing and satisfying.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanna Crowson
  • Joanna Crowson
  • 05-04-18

Kate is back

Great read, perfect for fans of Kate Shugak, and now I'm back to waiting for the next! The reader did a great job, but if you haven't read the previous book you might be confused at first. Hang on in there and all will become clear.