We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Scorpion Mountain Audiobook

Scorpion Mountain: Brotherband Chronicles, Book 5

Regular Price:$42.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From John Flanagan, author of the worldwide best-selling Ranger's Apprentice - an all-new adventure featuring the Brotherband crew and one of our favorite Rangers!

Fresh off of victory over their longtime nemesis, Tursgud, Hal and the Herons, summoned by King Duncan, set sail for Castle Araluen. Thrust into the dangerous world of Araluen, the Herons learn of a threat to Queen Evanlyn and whispers of a deadly sect known as the Scorpion Cult. Rumors say that Iqbal, who previously tried to assassinate Evanlyn at her wedding to Horace, might be planning another attempt. Not waiting to see if the knife will strike true, the Herons join forces with Gilan and his fellow Rangers to track down the would-be assassins.

In this fifth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, old friends re-emerge to take on new enemies as the worlds of Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband join forces! Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (598 )
5 star
 (488)
4 star
 (99)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.8 (536 )
5 star
 (432)
4 star
 (90)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (538 )
5 star
 (454)
4 star
 (73)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Skipper 03-01-16
    Skipper 03-01-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    599
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    341
    232
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    16
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story, but please respect your readers"

    Honestly, I do like this series and this book, but this author is becoming annoyingly repetitive, to the point of insult. He always spells out a reference to a past event, as though we cannot remember, or didn't read the prequels, or the original series Ranger's Apprentice (from which this series flows). To me, it feels condescending, and disruptive to the scene.

    For example:
    During their recent voyage to Socorro, they had blundered into shoal waters... (duh. How could we forget such a major event in book 4? So why stop the dialogue to insert this authorial aside?)

    Also, Flanagan reminds us for the nth time that egalitarian Skandians don't address leaders with honorifics (your majesty, your lordship, etc). We are told this several times in this book -- regarding King Duncan and Wakir Selethen -- and numerous times in varied books in both series.

    Another example: Flanagan stops the scene to remind readers when Gilan had already met Wakir Selethen. Then he stops another scene to remind us about when Gilan met the Bedouin leader from the Ranger's Apprentice series.

    There are more examples, but nuff said.

    Other than this, the story is quite engrossing and the writing quality is solid. I appreciate Flanagan's sense of humor, word play (Phillip Pussyfoot), and knowledge of sailing and battle strategy. Of course, the characters and their developing characterization is one of Flanagan's major strengths. The scene between the twins Wulf and Ulf is poignant. The scenes with Ingvar are heartwarming and amusing. Thorn is always a big hit, too.

    But ... we never find out what happened to the galley slaves after they carried out their promise. I wanted to see how Selethen treated them.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tommy boy 07-23-17
    tommy boy 07-23-17 Member Since 2016
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good listen as usuall"

    I like these books by John flannegan because of rich story and characters. and as they are written for a younger audience they are clean and i can miss a bit of them while driving and not feel like i have to rewind it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-20-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great all the way around."

    the horse dog is my hero. great read and or listen for all ages. thanks

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John E. Rocha Houston, TX United States 06-19-17
    John E. Rocha Houston, TX United States 06-19-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    35
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fast-pace and Hard Hitting!"

    Flanagan gives us another story that takes the Brotherband to an unknown area where they grow as individuals, as a team and still are able to show why they are the best. Keating gives another personalized narration that truly brings the story to life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Knght4Amor 03-07-17
    Knght4Amor 03-07-17 Member Since 2014
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "how the book was"

    great voices! loved the story the way it went was absolutely magical it felt like I was in the book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-16-16
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story read by a Great Narrator"

    This is one of my favorite series... John Flanagan is one of my favorite authors...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carlo Arthur 07-29-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    33
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    i loved it!! super easy listen to. John Flanagan and John Keating are extremely great at what they do.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James P. Jolley Jr. 05-14-16
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    55
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Stories"

    John Flanagan is a fantastic writer. Makes you feel as if you are living in Halishome. The characters all have great depth and importance. I love the books and the branch off from the Ranger Apprentice story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenya 05-11-16
    Kenya 05-11-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    124
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Attention to detail"

    I know this is a stupid reason to give you to listen, but the writer really dose his homework. He talks about how a group of calvary steers their horse with their knees while taking a shot with a bow. Sounds dumb but unless you work with horses a lot and have had a very well trained horse most people wouldn't know to look for such a detail. I greatly appreciate it as a horse rider and a former shower

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Tschirhart 04-24-16 Member Since 2011
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    This book is incredible. John's out done himself. I loved the whole series. Amazing book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.