• Intrigue: Prequel Novelette

  • Archer of the Heathland, Book 0
  • By: J.W. Elliot
  • Narrated by: Jim Byrne
  • Length: 1 hr and 1 min
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Intrigue: Prequel Novelette  By  cover art

Intrigue: Prequel Novelette

By: J.W. Elliot
Narrated by: Jim Byrne
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $2.33

Buy for $2.33

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A rogue Duke, a beautiful woman, and a deadly mission. 

Weyland, the best archer in the king’s army, wants revenge for the slaughter of his family. But when he stumbles across a murdered man with a secret and he saves a duke’s life in battle, he finds himself entangled in noble intrigues of the worst kind. A copper coin, a princess, and a beautiful tavern girl push Weyland’s skill and loyalty to the limit. Now Weyland has to survive long enough to fulfill his promise to the Duke without getting so deeply ensnared in noble intrigues that he cannot escape. 

This novelette introduces the new adventure series Archer of the Heathland. Book one of the series, entitled Deliverance, picks up the story of Weyland’s son, Brion, and his desperate flight into the heathland. 

This is an adventure series perfect for fans of John Flanagan’s Ranger's Apprentice, J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2017 J.W. Elliot (P)2020 J.W. Elliot

What listeners say about Intrigue: Prequel Novelette

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

on sale so tried it.

First, the only thing this has in common with John Flanagan's Ranger Apprentice stories is that the MC uses a bow. I don't know who wrote this summary. It's obvious that they; 1. never read the Ranger's Appretice or 2. using this comparision to trick readers into a purchasing this. The MC is flat, the story boring and predictable. The reader does a fair job.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Prequel

I loved the relationship between Rosland and Weyland. This story has humor and heart and sets up the backstory for the conflict that catapults Brion into the conflicts of Book I. I hope this author returns to this world in future series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not intrigued

I couldn't finish it. The reader over "acted" so much that I turned it off.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!