We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The German Girl Audiobook

The German Girl: A Novel

Regular Price:$22.67
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about 12-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together.

Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her 12th birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.

The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.

©2016 Armando Lucas Correa. All rights reserved. (P)2016 Simon & Schuster

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (156 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (50)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.9 (138 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (46)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.1 (139 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    DT Canada 11-06-16
    DT Canada 11-06-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it."

    Best book I have read this year. Narrator exceptional. Read for sure!!!!
    Learned a lot too.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-11-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovely tear jerking story"

    I got through 2 tissue boxes by the time I finished the book. It makes you nostalgic for a life you never lived. Through each chapter you are transported in a time capsule enveloped in tragedy and sorrow. I recommend to all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Pickering, Ontario, Canada 11-16-16
    James Pickering, Ontario, Canada 11-16-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good story."

    the story is heart wrenching yet there are many moments of joy that lighten the tragic events of the story.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Tucson, AZ, United States 10-28-16
    Sarah Tucson, AZ, United States 10-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just okay"

    I thought the history behind this story was the most interesting part. I felt the experiences, thoughts etc of the characters seemed a little off for 12 year old girls. The different languages would have been lovely but the accents were terrible in both French and German. Find a native speaker please!

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bonnie Warren 06-10-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The German Girl"

    I found it hard to fall in love with the story. I never give up on a book and by part three I was deeply in it. Not my favourite but some parts are well written.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret 05-13-17
    Margaret 05-13-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    202
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "failed to engage me emotionally"

    Topic interested me enormously and having read many accounts of survivors and those who worked with and helped from many countries, I expected to "feel" more. Just didn't register with me. Good story bones and intriguing piece of history.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kassidy 05-13-17
    Kassidy 05-13-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is a YA book better suited for Tweens"

    I could barely get through this book, almost returned it. It is a story of never ending melancholy, despair and depression. Too much detachment between the characters and their stories. The author completely white washes the horrors of Nazi Germany and the Jewish struggle. The whole book could have been written in one chapter as it was one long deep sigh.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    pat clark SAINT ANTHONY, IDAHO, US 04-02-17
    pat clark SAINT ANTHONY, IDAHO, US 04-02-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "The German girl"

    This was a great read.It would be an equally
    Great movie?? I would love to see who they would cast loved it all nicely done

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melanie Safer 03-12-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and difficult to follow"

    Could have been an interesting story, but was difficult to follow The characters switched back and forth so often and nothing seemed really resolve. It was so hard to follow

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    aubrey 03-09-17
    aubrey 03-09-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Condense without leaving out facts"

    A good story. Somewhat drawn out. The author could have shared this story and not deleted any facts in a shorter form. A good read . I would recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.