Regular price: $21.10

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Thomas Kydd was promoted to acting lieutenant at the bloody Battle of Camperdown in October 1797. Now he must sit an exam to confirm his rank or face an inglorious return before the mast.

©2004 Julian Stockwin (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Hero Advances

I like the stories of Kydd's continuing climb. Entertaining, and with the right narrator. Rodska is excellent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very fun book

Pure entertainment with a little history thrown in by a talented writer! In the tradition of Obrien and Forester - he tells some fun tales that make us root for Tom Kidd!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific

I enjoyed details and surprises and much history connections to British and American events places persons times subjects habits food

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • 01-18-15

Well worth a read but more sedate . . .

I'm becoming a real fan of this series but this book marks a change of pace for Kydd and Renzi. Moving up to the lofty heights of the Quarterdeck they are now faced with a myriad challenges of a different nature. I think that it's a positive that the author decided to spend time on this difficult transition for Kydd but it does result in less of the action that is so integral to the other books. My only criticism would be that it seemed to be largely a series of encounters in which Kydd proves that he doesn't match the initial impressions of others. It remains however an enjoyable read and still shows just how excellent the author's knowledge of his subject is. On top of that the narration from Christian Rodska maintains his now customary excellent standards.

So, in summary, a satisfying read, I'll continue with the series but simply a bit less exciting than the others.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lingwelli
  • 08-11-15

A great listen

Where does Quarterdeck rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I am gradually working through the Kidd series. This one is more of Kidd's problems before being elevated to officer status. Never the less it is a very good listen.

Have you listened to any of Christian Rodska’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I have listened to many of Christian Rodska's narrations and this is by far the best yet. All his characters are quite different, even the different American characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-08-18

Fantastic

Great narrator Christian Rodska who also performs similar novels including the Hornblower series and has a great way of brining expression to the writing.

Great story of the Kydd series and stands out as a turning point in his career as he moves from being seen as one of the crew to one of the gentry with some fantastic extra descriptions of the wonders of North America.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jonathan
  • 03-09-17

Great

I loved this book in a wonderful series following the nautical adventures of Tom Kydd