Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Come What May and former police officer Larry Darter - a suspenseful noir private investigator mystery thriller made to order for fans of Robert B. Parker's Spenser, Phillip Marlowe, and Harry Bosch.

One of Tinseltown's brightest stars has been murdered.

The accused is her estranged husband, and the situation doesn't look good.

A knock on the office door of Los Angeles private eye Ben Malone can only mean one thing, a new case.

Local defense attorney Liz Harper from the Los Angeles law firm Ross & Logan pays Malone a visit with an interesting story to tell.

Harper's client, bad-boy actor Zack Sinclair, whose appetites for booze, gambling, and extramarital sex are as out-sized as his ego, has been charged with the murder of his estranged wife, Holly Sutherland, one of Hollywood's biggest and brightest stars. Her client has next to no alibi, and to make matters worse, he is on the hook to his bookie for a quarter million bucks. As her sole heir, he had multi-million reasons to kill his wealthy wife.

Harper believes her client is innocent, at least of the murder, and she hires Malone to prove it before the case goes to trial.

Malone starts investigating. The case quickly gets darker when he uncovers some ugly secrets about the deceased. His search for he truth puts him squarely in the path of a mafioso who tells Malone to drop the case or else. Malone enters into a daring game of cat-and-mouse, a game he might not come out of alive.

©2017 Larry M Darter (P)2018 Larry M Darter

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Mystery

This is a good gumshoe mystery superbly narrated by Thomas Block. It reminds me of the old detective novels written from the perspective of the investigating detective. As usual Tom Block’s superb narration keeps the listener spellbound and fully absorbed in the story.