Your audiobook is waiting…

Black Heart Boys' Choir

Narrated by: J. Keith Jackson
Length: 7 hrs and 28 mins
Categories: Fiction, Horror
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Great art demands sacrifice.

Lucien Beaumont is a teenage misfit and musical prodigy ostracized by his peers and haunted by familial tragedy. When he discovers an unfinished song composed by his dead father - a song that holds terrible power - Lucien becomes obsessed. As he chases after the secret nature of his father's music, the line between gruesome fantasy and real life violence begins to blur.

To complete his father's work, Lucien believes that he and his group of outcast friends must appease a demonic force trapped within the music with increasingly sadistic offerings. As things spiral out of control, he finds that the cost of his art will be the lives of everyone around him and, perhaps, his very soul.

©2019 Curtis M. Lawson (P)2019 Curtis M. Lawson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You can almost hear the music...

Black Heart Boys’ Choir is expertly written and the narration is superb. For a story that revolves heavily around classical music, Lawson was somehow able to make it all understandable and enjoyable for the musical layperson. Overwhelming creepiness and nihilism drips from every chapter. My only possible criticism would be that I began to really dislike the main character as the story went on. But I believe this to be intentional, given the direction the plot was going. Overall, it’s a great read or listen. Highly recommended for fans of Thomas Ligotti and Bret Easton Ellis.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unreliable narrator... You bet!

Unreliable narrator... You bet! The entire time reading this book, I kept wondering is he in a psychotic break and it is all in his head and his friends are sucked into his messed up world wanting to grab a hold of anything that would give them an outlet for their violence. But I've gotten ahead of myself... back to the beginning

When I first started I found I liked the main character.... and I wanted there to be another book. So much so that I asked my husband if the start of the book as the real ending. I was disappointed... however once I got into it, I found Lucian is completely wackadoodle. While I hate bullies, I still found myself shouting at the main characters when they did something absolutely dumb or outrageous.

The book is good. It kept my attention the whole time. I really like the voice actor for this book. He has good range and brings the characters to life. While I found I wanted to like the main character as the book went on I found I was ok with how the book was going to end. I was so upset at poor Maxwell, a cinnamon roll that needed to be protected.

I especially liked the demon mentioning "Erich Zann" one of my favorite HP Lovecraft stories.

The books ending is perfect for the characters and I really enjoyed watching their fall into madness.

Bechdel test: Passed - only barely - Minor characters Violet and April talking to each other.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping, profound, tremendous!

This one was a gem. A truly inspired story. I sensed a lot of influences, and they all came together really well. Don't let it scare you, but there's some American Psycho in here for sure. And similar to that one, it leaves you with some room for interpretation, which I really like...
Can't recommend this one enough. One hell of a book. Hats off to Lawson!