Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A global search for the mythical lost city...a ruthless underground consortium.... One man's quest to find the ultimate treasure and give it back to the world....

Egypt, 1938

A leading archaeologist vanishes while exploring a newly discovered chamber inside the Great Pyramid of Giza. 

Mediterranean Sea, Present Day

Ex-US Navy specialists Carter Hunt and Jayden Takada are working one of their first jobs in civilian life - repairing a subsea data cable for an international telecom company - when their mini-sub is attacked by persons unknown wishing to stem the flow of information in and out of Egypt. 

They survive the encounter only to receive a call from Hunt’s ex-girlfriend, Dr. Madison Chambers, an archaeologist currently on an excavation at the Great Pyramid of Giza. She has a most unusual request - she needs someone to scuba dive inside the pyramid. Hunt agrees to help, but soon finds out that the same people behind his close call on the data cable are also interested in what has been found in the pyramid.

Before long, Hunt and Takada find themselves on the run from a shadowy criminal enterprise that will stop at nothing to obtain artifacts that appear to lead to nothing less than the lost city of Atlantis.

A trail of clues looks like it will lead the accidental explorers to legendary riches of unfathomable worth, but will they be able to safeguard them from those who would do anything to control ancient secrets?

©2017, 2018 Rick Chesler (P)2018 Rick Chesler

Critic Reviews

"Ancient mysteries, global conspiracies, and nonstop thrills! Books like these are the reason I love action-adventure! Fans of Clive Cussler and James Rollins will find treasure within the pages of Atlantis Gold!" (David Wood, author of the Dane Maddock Adventures)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Good Story With Horrible Narration

This is, no surprise, an adventure story regarding finding the lost civilization of Atlantis. The title pretty much lays that out. This is not an overly fanciful adventure with super technology or magic or the like. This takes a pretty realistic path to the end result. It also sets up a potential series of novels.

The story is reasonable and entertaining. Characters are likable and mostly pretty realistic in their characterization. Notable exception being Jaden, who is characterized as a smart-ass side kick. Your typical movie humorous side kick type of thing. Still, not bad.

The bad part of this is the narration.
It. Is. Horrible.
It seems as if it were being read by an AI and not a person.
Monotone.
No inflection.
Pronunciation is off in many cases.
If you ever have had an Amazon Echo read a Kindle book to you, then you know EXACTLY what this sounded like.
The editing was weird as well - like they recorded a first time table reading of the book. Some lines are partially repeated - not a standard repeat due to an interruption on your phone kind of repeat, you can tell this is in the actual recording.
Weirdly it will randomly, it seems, repeat the last 3 or 4 works immediately after saying them. It is infrequent to start with and more noticeable toward the last half of the book.

I want to like this book because it could be the start of a great series I think. But it needs a different narrator.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Benny butthead
  • 01-31-18

bad narration.

I'm sure it was a really good story, I love rick chesler but the narration was so bad I couldn't even get half an hour into it. should of use jeffrey fellin.