AUTHOR

Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart, one of the most popular novelists, was born in Sunderland, County Durham, England. After boarding-school, she received a B.A. with first class honors in English Language and Literature from Durham University and went on for her M.A. Later she returned to her own University as a Lecturer in English. She married in 1945. Her husband is Sir Frederick Stewart, who is Chairman of the Geology Department at Edinburgh University, and a Fellow of the Royal Society.Mary Stewart's career as a novelist began in 1954 with the publication of Madam, Will You Talk? Since then she has published fifteen successful novels, including The Last Enchantment, the third book of the magical trilogy about the legendary enchanter Merlin and young Arthur. Her books for young readers, The Little Broomstick (1971) and Ludo and the Star Horse (1974), quickly met with the same success as her other novels. In 1968, she was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts. In 1971, the Scottish Chapter of the International PEN Association awarded her the Frederick Niven prize for the The Crystal Cave. In 1974, the Scottish Arts Council Award went to Ludo and the Star Horse.

Read more Read less
Join Audible free for 30 days and stay for $14.95 a month.

Best Sellers

    • Madam, Will You Talk?

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Emilia Fox
    • Length: 9 hrs and 6 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 32
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 30
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 30

    It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy.... 

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • At last

    • By Mary E. Haley on 11-03-18

    Regular price: $21.81

    • The Crystal Cave

    • The Arthurian Saga, Book 1
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 16 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 595
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 560
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 560

    Born the bastard son of a Welsh princess, Myrdden Emrys - or as he would later be known, Merlin - leads a perilous childhood, haunted by portents and visions. But destiny has great plans....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fantasy as literature.

    • By bluestategirl on 01-25-17

    Regular price: $27.97

    • This Rough Magic

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Helen Johns
    • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 66
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 65

    Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • PERFECT BEACH READ, rediscovered

    • By Susan on 08-02-18

    Regular price: $27.27

    • The Hollow Hills

    • The Arthurian Saga, Book 2
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 16 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 336
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 312
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 310

    Keeping watch over the young Arthur Pendragon, the prince and prophet Merlin Ambrosius is haunted by dreams of the magical sword Caliburn, which has been hidden for centuries....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • The Hollow Hills in an unabridged form at last!

    • By kimmacvb on 02-05-17

    Regular price: $27.97

    • The Last Enchantment

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 18 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 201
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 186
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 185

    Arthur Pendragon is king! Crowned and recognized as High King, Arthur is unchallenged on the battlefield, and he melds the country together in a time of promise....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Merlin's story continues

    • By Jerri C on 01-14-17

    Regular price: $31.47

    • Wildfire at Midnight

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
    • Length: 6 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41

    The pioneer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads her listeners on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent

    • By Julie on 08-08-18

    Regular price: $21.81

    • The Wicked Day

    • The Arthurian Saga, Book 4
    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 14 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 54
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 52
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 52

    Mary Stewart's stunning Arthurian saga continues with The Wicked Day, the story of the clash between King Arthur and his bastard son, Mordred....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Arthur's tale completed

    • By Jerri C on 11-12-17

    Regular price: $27.97

    • The Prince and the Pilgrim

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 8 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 16
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 16

    The best-selling author of the Merlin Trilogy returns to the magical world of King Arthur and Camelot - to tell a story of daring adventure, unexpected love, and unsurpassed enchantment....

    Regular price: $24.47

    • The Stormy Petrel

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Jenny Seagrove
    • Length: 2 hrs and 56 mins
    • Abridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 38
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 40

    The isolated cottage on the remote Hebridean island of Moila seemed like an ideal away-from-it-all retreat for writer Rose Fenemore....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Not Stewart's best, sound quality a problem

    • By Alden on 10-23-11

    Regular price: $11.17

    • Thornyhold

    • By: Mary Stewart
    • Narrated by: Jenny Agutter
    • Length: 2 hrs and 48 mins
    • Abridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 37
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 32
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 33

    Gilly Ramsey's lonely childhood was brightened only by visits to her godmother until her death, when the then grown-up Gilly inherited the family cottage, Thornyhold....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Terrible Playback Quality

    • By Cynthia Hardy on 06-12-18

    Regular price: $11.19

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.