Your audiobook is waiting…

Nine Coaches Waiting

Narrated by: Ellie Heydon
Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (95 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Mary Stewart transports her listeners to mid-century Savoy for a plot of danger and deception, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

Linda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy. But Philippe is the heir to a vast estate in Savoy, and his dangerously handsome uncle may be willing to kill to ensure that Philippe never inherits it.

Mary Stewart's wonderful novel of suspense and intrigue set in the idyllic countryside of Savoy. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

©1958 Mary Stewart (P)1958 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic Reviews

"A wonderful wordsmith." (Scotsman)

"She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best." (Herald)

"One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century." (Independent)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marvellous!

I had read this book many years ago. But I didn't remember much of it. But the whole experience of listening enthralled me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.Sum
  • Pacific Northwest
  • 05-28-19

Favorite, well read

This is one of my favorite Mary Stewart suspense novels. It is a Cinderella/Jane Eyre romance with a horrible twist; someone is trying to murder her charge.
The reading is good, not exemplary when it comes to voices or accents but enjoyable and clear.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Curl up and escape!

What a wonderful little story! Spooky romantic gothic setting, truly lovable heroine, and a terrible villain! The only thing I didn’t love was the romance. It was a good love story but it felt just a little bit abrupt. Especially when you realize the entire story takes place over just a few weeks. Despite that, the setting, time period, and use of language make it an all time favorite cozy romance to read and re-read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent audio version of one of the classic mystery romance novels.

I have enjoyed Mary Stewart’s novels for decades. Nine coaches waiting was one of my first novels of this genres I read back when I was 15. Since then I’ve read and reread all of her works over the decades. So I was waiting impatiently for them to be transferred to audible format and praying that the choice of narrator would do justice to the work. This was OUTSTANDING! Her voices are excellent, her expression is perfection, the pacing and diction are flawless. You will not regret adding this audio volume to your collection.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful narrator

Love Mary Stewart. Her books are like comfort food for the soul. This narrator is perfect for this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mary Stewart’s Best

Nine Coaches Waiting is the first Mary Stewart book that my mother read to me when I was a kid, and it has remained my favorite of her books since that time. I was beyond excited when I saw that the book was being released on audible, and fervently hoped that the narrator would do the book justice. Ellie Heydon did not disappoint. The only caution I will give is that after reading this book (the best romantic suspense) , other romantic suspense authors and novels will seem a little lacking in the comparison.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

I have loved this book for over 50 years, rereading it often. I’m so very happy to have the wonderful Dame Mary Stewart’s timeless novels presented so beautifully on Audible. I’ve already added her unabridged novels to my audio library, and preordered those being released. Thank you, thank you, thank you for making then not only available, but with narration that is beyond perfection.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable plot, unlikable characters

This Cinderella pastiche starts out well. It is the story of two orphans and it is not clear which one is the real Cinderella of the story. Both the main character, Linda, and her young charge, Count Philip, have a split personality of sorts. Both appear and act helpless, feeble and weak. But then, on occasion, seem to find an inner core of courage which allows them some agency. I could not really empathize with the simpering Linda who is ready to submit to whatever crumbs Raoul is willing to drop on her by way of affection, attention or respect.

In some ways, the fact that the listener/reader can easily figure out what is going on but the characters themselves seem totally oblivious works two ways. It makes the reader apprehensive and so raises the tension of the story, but at the same times it makes the characters seem obtuse.

Almost all of the characters are unlikable either because of their arrogance, timidity, or willingness to use others for their own gain and then feel free to eliminate them from their lives once they have served their purpose. Essentially, this is a teenage level romance, complete with fashion, good looks, exotic locale, sneaking around, and belle of the ball scenes. It might be perfect for someone looking for this kind of story, but it did not work for me. I listened on double speed half way and then to the last chapter to see if I had nailed the plot. It was not worth my time to listen to the last third however.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fredfiend
  • 06-20-19

Just as good as I remembered!

This was always one of my favourite Mary Stewart books and it didn’t disappoint. The only issue I had was that there were some odd pronunciations - I’m very surprised no editor picked up on the fact that the author of The a Thirty Nine Steps was not called ‘John Bushanne’ instead of John Buchan. Doesn’t half jerk you out of the story! That said, a lot of care was given to a French characters speaking with an accent when speaking English but not in their own language, which was very thoughtfully done.

What a joy to meet this old friend again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allanagh H
  • 05-19-19

Well worth the long wait

This book has been my number one comfort read since I was thirteen, so I was a little nervous that this audio version wouldn't live up to it. But it did. The narrator clearly understood that a very great part of Mary Stewart's gift is her sense of place, so where some readers might have rushed through the descriptions of landscape, of nature, this reader brought everything to it that the memorable, evocative writing deserves. And she was even better with nuances of character. All the heroine's deapth of personality came through perfectly, and ditto for Raoul. And, if anything, her rendering of young Philippe was even better. He was absolutely the haunted, brave but blossoming young boy I just love to bits. On top all this the narrator's French pronunciation, and French accented English, was, to my ears, and to those of Francophone family members, so spot on I'd love to know if she has French family of her own. So, I couldn't have enjoyed this more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elspeth Smith
  • 05-19-19

The joy of an old favourite recovered!

This Mary Stewart was the first I ever read, and I have returned to it with much pleasure over the years. To be able now to listen to her marvellous and evocative landscapes and relish the thrill of her narrative is unalloyed pleasure. Thank you Audible for this production!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sas
  • 05-16-19

Lovely but odd pronunciation

I adore Mary Stewart and know this book back to front. The narration is lovely but the story hangs on Linda Martin being French... And the French pronunciation is talented schoolgirl... Not enough to convince. Also characters' accents change all the time. It's a lack of preparation.

I can't help it... I'm a linguist so it grates a bit.

But it's nicely done aside from the quibble!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-06-19

Wonderful

My favourite Mary Stewart. Beautifully read. Well paced. A treat. I've been waiting for a long time for more Mary Stewsrt books to become available and I'm glad to see many more will be available this year. I've just downloaded 'Airs above the ground " -another great favourite. Mary Stewart is a consummate story teller and if the other performances are as good as this I'll be kept enthralled for quite a while.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Spikyjules
  • 06-06-19

Really, really enjoyed this!

Although I read this many years ago, I thoroughly enjoyed it as an audio book. The narration was excellent and the story and characters pulled me in. One of Mary Stewarts's best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lulu
  • 05-30-19

Beautifully written

A slow start at first built up to what I can only describe as a beautiful book. Rich language, believable characters for the time - a different era perfectly portrayed and a good story to boot!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leonie
  • 05-27-19

Wonderful book, great narration

This is not only my favourite Mary Stewart book but one of my favourite books of all time. So beautifully written and exciting. The narrator really brought the text to life. Thank you Hodder for making it into audio!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R Griffiths
  • 05-24-19

Great story, excellent narration

It's so good to see these Mary Stewart books available on Audible. This is one of her best, re-recorded with excellent narration. Thank you Audible

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • 05-21-19

My Favourite Mary Stewart Book

A delight, and thoroughly enjoyed the narration of this old favourite. Not having re read for about 30 years it was a wonderful journey to travel again with the Nine Coaches. Thank you!