Regular price: $10.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.

'Now she would spell love her own way....'

In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.

While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....

The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

©1968 MRM Stewart (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Classic Mary Stewart. Enchanting

The story unfolds in vivid word pictures read by an expressive Ms. Riddell. I could not fault the beloved writing style of a favorite author, or the flawless narration. Exceptional and enjoyable. I felt transported to the small isles!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • sharon
  • san diego, california, United States
  • 12-10-16

Little Known Mary Stewart Novella

I have been a Mary Stewart fan for over 50 years. I wish I could read "My Brother Michael" again for the first time (which is a top favorite of mine) I have read and reread all of her contemporary mysteries with pleasure. This novella has been out of print for years and was released to celebrate Mary"s 100th birthday.. Very much in the vein and style of her other classics...The only criticism I have is ITS TOO SHORT! I did not want it to end. The descriptions were marvelous and the scene in the cave very scary . The narration was excellent.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A magical love story

Any additional comments?

This is the best book I have listened to this year. Mary Stewart has always been one of my favorite authors but in this novella, she has outdone herself.
I listened to it in one go - at times it was hard to believe that a book could really be this good.
Fantastic narration, wonderful love story, descriptive scenery, well written characters. Ten out of ten!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Short Read

Mary Stewart is very much a hidden treasure. Her Merlin novels are wonderful, but her works of romantic fiction have not been given the praise that they should. She is as amazing a storyteller as Daphne DuMaurier and her prose is more descriptive. Almost as descriptive and harmonious as Truman Capote's short stories. I wish Audible could provide more unabridged Mary Stewart classics such as My Brother Michael, Nine Coaches Waiting, and This Rough Magic. She paints a picture that will last in your memory and I remember fondly the first time I've read her literature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Romantic

An extremely intriguing and romantic tale. and enjoyable short story. The narration was spectaculRd I could envision all the descriptions of the Isle.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just terrible

I don't believe this tripe was written by Mary Stewart even in an off day. It's just awful and ridiculous. Don't waste your money even if you are a fan. The narrator is good and does the best she can with is this will of a whisp of nothing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent... One of my favorite authors

We all have our favorite autnors. Whether it be the subject matter, the style of writing, or the who done it, the audio book makes it better

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Scorpio
  • 11-26-17

Delightful

A delightful gentle love story. One unknown before but very much enjoyed now.How there will be more to follow

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Readalot
  • 06-12-17

Charming

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I would to friends who like style

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I'd read it before, so it was expected

Have you listened to any of Susie Riddell’s other performances? How does this one compare?

You and Me, Always, is the only other one. I like her performance.

Did The Wind off the Small Isles inspire you to do anything?

Yes, to be annoyed the other longer books are not on Audible

Any additional comments?

Please... give us the other classic adventures. This one is so very short.