Martha Wells
AUTHOR

Martha Wells

Martha Wells has written many fantasy novels, including The Books of the Raksura series (beginning with The Cloud Roads), the Ile-Rien series (including The Death of the Necromancer) as well as YA fantasy novels, short stories, media tie-ins (for Star Wars and Stargate: Atlantis), and non-fiction. Her most recent fantasy novel is The Harbors of the Sun in 2017, the final novel in The Books of the Raksura series. She has a new series of SF novellas, The Murderbot Diaries, published by Tor.com in 2017 and 2018. She was also the lead writer for the story team of Magic: the Gathering's Dominaria expansion in 2018. She has won a Nebula Award, a Hugo Award, an ALA/YALSA Alex Award, a Locus Award, and her work has appeared on the Philip K. Dick Award ballot, the USA Today Bestseller List, and the New York Times Bestseller List. Her books have been published in eleven languages.

Read more Read less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

    • All Systems Red

    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
    • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,322
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,866
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,863

    All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld and Ex Machina....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • I LOVE MURDERBOT

    • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

    Regular price: $13.99

    • Artificial Condition

    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
    • Length: 3 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,528
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,331
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,327

    It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fun and fast!

    • By FA in Austin on 06-23-18

    Regular price: $13.99

    • Rogue Protocol

    • The Murderbot Diaries, Book 3
    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
    • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,780
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,645
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,642

    The case against the too-big-to-fail GrayCris Corporation is floundering, and more importantly, authorities are beginning to ask more questions about where Dr. Mensah's SecUnit is. And Murderbot would rather those questions went away. For good....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great, but...

    • By Amazon Customer on 12-03-18

    Regular price: $13.99

    • Exit Strategy

    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
    • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1,733
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1,595
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1,594

    Murderbot wasn't programmed to care. So its decision to help the only human who ever showed it respect must be a system glitch....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • New favorite series! Best I've read in YEARS!!!

    • By Jaime on 10-02-18

    Regular price: $13.99

    • The Cloud Roads

    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Christopher Kipiniak
    • Length: 15 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 939
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 848
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 847

    Moon has spent his life hiding what he is - a shape-shifter able to transform himself into a winged creature of flight....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Very original but flawed

    • By David on 06-22-13

    Regular price: $29.95

    • Razor's Edge

    • Star Wars: Empire and Rebellion, Book 1
    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: January LaVoy
    • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 617
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 579
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 578

    Times are desperate for the Rebel Alliance. Harassment by the Empire and a shortage of vital supplies are hindering completion of a new secret base on the ice planet Hoth....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Great Book, Adequate Narrator.

    • By Pamela on 09-29-13

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Serpent Sea

    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Christopher Kipiniak
    • Length: 14 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 618
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 545
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 556

    Moon, once a solitary wanderer, has become consort to Jade, sister queen of the Indigo Cloud court.....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Still Completely Enthralled With This World

    • By T. L. Walker on 02-25-16

    Regular price: $24.95

    • The Element of Fire

    • Ile-Rien Series, Book 1
    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Derek Perkins
    • Length: 14 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 159
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 141
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 144

    The kingdom of Ile-Rien lies in peril, menaced by sorcerous threats and devious court intrigues....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • A Different Take on High Fantasy

    • By Tango on 12-08-13

    Regular price: $31.49

    • Stories of the Raksura, Volume 2

    • The Dead City & the Dark Earth Below
    • By: Martha Wells
    • Narrated by: Christopher Kipiniak
    • Length: 9 hrs and 22 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 96
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 89
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 89

    Moon, Jade, and other favorites from the Indigo Cloud Court return with two new novellas from Martha Wells....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Enriching this already stunning world

    • By Mara on 03-21-16

    Regular price: $19.95

    • The Gods of H. P. Lovecraft

    • By: Rachel Caine, Seanan McGuire, Laird Barron, and others
    • Narrated by: David Stifel, uncredited
    • Length: 15 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 411
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 377
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 376

    A brand new anthology that collects the 12 principal deities of the Lovecraftian Mythos and sets them loose....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • H.P. Lovecraft's Mysteries Revealed & Explained!

    • By Old Man Parker on 11-16-16

    Regular price: $24.95

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.