Sword of Empire

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 13 ratings

Sword of Empire: Praetorian Publisher's Summary

171 AD. Rome is at war with the northern tribes - and is yet to win a significant battle. The Germanic armies have crossed the Danube and have attacked the Empire, slaughtering thousands. The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, is losing the support of the people and the Senate. Yet he has formed a plan he believes will change the balance of power in the region. Aurelius has dispatched an officer in the Praetorian Guard, the centurion Gaius Maximus, to escort the son and daughter of a powerful German tribal chief back to their village through enemy territory - in hope of arranging an alliance with Rome. But Maximus, to complete his mission, must contest with enemies at home, as well as abroad. One man will change the fate of an Empire, or die trying.

From the backstreets of Rome, to the forests of Germany, and onto the Battle of Pannonia, Sword of Empire: Praetorian is the first book in a new series from the best-selling author of the novel Augustus: Son of Rome - and the Sword of Rome collection of novellas about the campaigns of Julius Caesar. For fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, and Conn Iggulden. Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

©2013 Richard Foreman (P)2016 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Sword of Empire: Praetorian

    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Sam Devereaux
    • Length: 4 hrs and 31 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4

    171 AD. Rome is at war with the northern tribes - and is yet to win a significant battle. The Germanic armies have crossed the Danube and have attacked the Empire, slaughtering thousands. The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, is losing the support of the people and the Senate. Yet he has formed a plan he believes will change the balance of power in the region. Aurelius has dispatched an officer in the Praetorian Guard, the centurion Gaius Maximus, to escort the son and daughter of a powerful German tribal chief.

    Regular price: $14.95

  • Book 2

    • Sword of Empire: Centurion

    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Sam Devereaux
    • Length: 4 hrs and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 4

    Rome 174 AD. As the war continues in the north, Marcus Aurelius orders Gaius Maximus and Rufus Atticus to return to Rome. Enemies lurk in the shadows in the capital, spreading propaganda and sowing dissent. The praetorian guards must lure their enemies out - and defeat them. Yet Maximus is returning home for something, or rather someone, else: Aurelia. The soldier will be caught between his duty and his happiness. Rufus Atticus will also be forced to make a choice, between duty and family.

    Regular price: $14.95

  • Book 3

    • Sword of Empire: Emperor

    • By: Richard Foreman
    • Narrated by: Sam Devereaux
    • Length: 4 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5

    Britain. 179 AD. The centurion Rufus Atticus is intent on finding Gaius Maximus - a fugitive and friend. Whilst doing so, however, Atticus finds trouble - in the form of the brutal Meriadoc clan. The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, wants to offer the former praetorian a pardon. Atticus also has important news for Maximus, which will change his life. But as well as offering the soldier a pardon, the Emperor has summoned Maximus to ask him to complete one final mission. He must venture into enemy territory and assassinate Balomar.

    Regular price: $14.95