Clara Vine

8 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 128 ratings

Black Roses Publisher's Summary

Berlin, 1933. Aspiring actress Clara Vine arrives in Berlin to find work at the famous Ufa studios. Through a chance meeting, she is unwillingly drawn into a circle of Nazi wives, led by Magda Goebbels. British Intelligence officer Leo Quinn sees Clara as the perfect recruit to spy on her new elite friends. But then Magda reveals to Clara a dramatic secret and entrusts her with an extraordinary mission.

©2013 Thynker Ltd (P)2013 W F Howes Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Black Roses

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 15 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 3

    Berlin, 1933. Aspiring actress Clara Vine arrives in Berlin to find work at the famous Ufa studios. Through a chance meeting, she is unwillingly drawn into a circle of Nazi wives, led by Magda Goebbels. British Intelligence officer Leo Quinn sees Clara as the perfect recruit to spy on her new elite friends. But then Magda reveals to Clara a dramatic secret and entrusts her with an extraordinary mission.

    Regular price: $27.81

    • Black Roses

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 15 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 24

    Berlin, 1933. Warning bells ring across Europe as Hitler comes to power. Clara Vine, an attractive young Anglo-German actress, arrives in Berlin to find work at the famous Ufa studios. Through a chance meeting, she is unwillingly drawn into a circle of Nazi wives, among them Magda Goebbels, Anneliese von Ribbentrop, and Goering's girlfriend, Emmy Sonnemann.

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 2

    • The Winter Garden

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 21 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Berlin in 1937 radiates glamour and ambition. Anna Hansen, a bride-to-be, is at one of Hitler's notorious Nazi Bride Schools. When she is brutally murdered Clara Vine, an undercover British Intelligence agent and Anna’s friend, is disturbed by news of her death. Clara must work to find the truth and send it back to London. It is a dangerous path she treads, and it will take everything she has to survive.…

    Regular price: $21.58

    • Woman in the Shadows

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 14 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 31
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29

    Berlin, 1937. The city radiates glamour and ambition. But danger lurks in every shadow. Anna Hansen, a bride-to-be, is a pupil at one of Hitler's notorious Nazi Bride Schools, where young women are schooled on the art of being an SS officer's wife. Then, one night, she is brutally murdered and left in the gardens of the school. Her death will be hushed up and her life forgotten. Clara Vine is an actress at Berlin's famous Ufa studios by day, and an undercover British Intelligence agent by night.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Everything was great...except

    • By Sarah on 10-18-16

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 3

    • A War of Flowers

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 13 hrs and 40 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 13
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 12

    August 1938. British actress Clara Vine is in Paris to film her latest movie, mingling with society and passing snippets of information to her contacts in the British embassy. When Clara is approached by an undercover British operative who asks her to befriend Eva Braun, Hitler's girlfriend, she knows she is putting herself in danger. But Clara will do everything in her power to protect her country.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Addictive series but watch out for duplicates!

    • By Jeannie M on 06-06-16

    Regular price: $22.27

    • The Scent of Secrets

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 13 hrs and 40 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 35
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 34

    Set in Europe in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • A cozy WW2 spy story

    • By Katherine on 02-15-16

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 4

    • The Pursuit of Pearls

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 14 hrs and 22 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 13
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12

    Clara Vine, a half-Jewish Anglo-German, uses her unique access to the wealthy elite of prewar Nazi society to spy for her native Britain. In this second installment of her story, Clara, an ambitious young actress, insinuates herself into the lives of the Nazi wives through her association with the famous Ufa Studios. Her close friendship with Magda Goebbels makes her an attractive asset to the British intelligence service.

    Regular price: $31.49

    • Faith and Beauty

    • By: Jane Thynne
    • Narrated by: Julie Teal
    • Length: 14 hrs and 22 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7

    Berlin, on the eve of war. Clara Vine, Anglo-German actress and spy, has been recalled to London by British Intelligence to probe reports that the Nazis and the Soviet Union are planning to make a pact. When Clara investigates the death of a young woman from the Faith and Beauty Society - the elite finishing school for Nazi girls - what she uncovers is something of infinite value to the Nazi regime - and now she herself is in danger.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Great new take on the spy genre

    • By Katherine on 02-22-16

    Regular price: $21.58