Poseidon's Children

6 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 1,744 ratings

Blue Remembered Earth Publisher's Summary

Critically acclaimed author Alastair Reynolds holds a well-deserved place “among the leaders of the hard-science space opera renaissance." (Publishers Weekly). In Blue Remembered Earth, Geoffrey Akinya wants nothing more than to study the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But when his space-explorer grandmother dies, secrets come to light and Geoffrey is dispatched to the Moon to protect the family name - and prevent an impending catastrophe.

©2012 Alastair Reynolds (P)2012 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Blue Remembered Earth

    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    • Length: 21 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 765
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 702
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 702

    Critically acclaimed author Alastair Reynolds holds a well-deserved place “among the leaders of the hard-science space opera renaissance." ( Publishers Weekly). In Blue Remembered Earth, Geoffrey Akinya wants nothing more than to study the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But when his space-explorer grandmother dies, secrets come to light and Geoffrey is dispatched to the Moon to protect the family name - and prevent an impending catastrophe.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A surprising and staisfying departure for Reynolds

    • By Michael G Kurilla on 07-21-12

    Regular price: $38.49

    • Blue Remembered Earth

    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    • Length: 21 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 129
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 119
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 118

    One hundred and fifty years from now, in a world where Africa is the dominant technological and economic power, and where crime, war, disease and poverty have been banished to history, Geoffrey Akinya wants only one thing: to be left in peace, so that he can continue his studies into the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But Geoffrey's family, the vast Akinya business empire, has other plans.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 100 years out, humans are reaching for the stars.

    • By Shawn on 02-02-13

    Regular price: $26.64

  • Book 2

    • On the Steel Breeze

    • Poseidon's Children, Book 2
    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
    • Length: 23 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 415
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 380
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 381

    Chiku Akinya, great granddaughter of the legendary space explorer Eunice and heir to the family empire, is just one among millions on a long one way journey towards a planet they hope to call their new home. For Chiku, the journey is a personal one, undertaken to ensure that the Akinya family achieves its destiny among the stars. The passengers travel in huge self-contained artificial worlds - holoships - putting their faith in a physics they barely understand.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Earthier, narrower, more feminine than AR's work

    • By SciFi Kindle on 07-28-14

    Regular price: $41.99

    • On the Steel Breeze

    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
    • Length: 23 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 106
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 103
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 100

    A thousand years in the future, mankind's influence expands into the universe. Alastair Reynolds epic vision of our journey into deep space will redefine Space Opera. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks. Read by Adjoa Andoh.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Reynold's return to mastery

    • By Andreas Henriksson on 07-18-14

    Regular price: $26.64

  • Book 3

    • Poseidon's Wake

    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
    • Length: 27 hrs and 5 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 36
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 36
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 36

    This novel is a standalone story which takes two extraordinary characters and follows them as they independently begin to unravel some of the greatest mysteries of our universe. Their missions are dangerous, and they are all venturing into the unknown...and if they can uncover the secret to faster-than-light travel then new worlds will be at our fingertips. But innovation and progress are not always embraced by everyone. There is a saboteur at work.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fantastic. One of a kind. Different.

    • By Claude on 06-17-15

    Regular price: $26.64

    • Poseidon's Wake

    • By: Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
    • Length: 27 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 293
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 276
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 276

    In the conclusion of the Poseidon's Children saga, the Akinya family receives an invitation from across the stars - and a last opportunity to redeem their name.... "Send Ndege". The cryptic message originated 70 light-years away from the planet Crucible, where Ndege Akinya lives under permanent house arrest for her role in the catastrophe that killed 417,000 people. Could it be from her mother, Chiku, who vanished during a space expedition decades earlier?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Reads like it's lacking plot revisions

    • By Autumn on 02-18-16

    Regular price: $41.99