David Loogan

2 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 129 ratings

Bad Things Happen Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher - and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with - turns up dead.

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blonde wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll - a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up - some of them echoing stories published in the magazine - it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." (Washington Post)

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard." (Douglas Preston)

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

©2009 Harry Dolan (P)2009 Penguin Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • Bad Things Happen

    • By: Harry Dolan
    • Narrated by: Erik Davies
    • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 87
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 56
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 56

    The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blonde wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll - a man who soon turns up dead. 

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Potential, but too mechanical

    • By FRITZ STOOP on 10-22-12

    Regular price: $31.50

  • Book 2

    • Very Bad Men

    • David Loogan, Book 2
    • By: Harry Dolan
    • Narrated by: Erik Davies
    • Length: 15 hrs and 18 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 42
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 33
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 34

    David Loogan is living in Ann Arbor with Detective Elizabeth Waishkey and her daughter, Sarah. He's settled into a quiet routine as editor of the mystery magazine Gray Streets - until one day he finds a manuscript outside his door. It begins: "I killed Henry Kormoran." Anthony Lark has a list of names: Terry Dawtrey, Sutton Bell, Henry Kormoran. To his eyes, the names glow red on the page. They move. They breathe. The people on the list have little in common, except that 17 years ago they were involved in a notorious robbery.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Overall good listen!

    • By MHL on 09-03-12

    Regular price: $35.00