Veneticas Americana

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 153 ratings

The Native Star Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson's captivating take on the wild, wild West.

The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession - and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time - and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine - in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all: the magic of the human heart.

©2010 M.K. Hobson (P)2011 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Native Star

    • By: M. K. Hobson
    • Narrated by: Suehyla El-Attar
    • Length: 13 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 104
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 83
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 85

    The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession - and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • A bold, inventive, well-written first novel

    • By Zooomer on 08-26-11

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 2

    • The Hidden Goddess

    • By: M. K. Hobson
    • Narrated by: Suehyla El-Attar
    • Length: 12 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 39
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 29
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 29

    In a brilliant mix of magic, history, and romance, M. K. Hobson moves her feisty young Witch, Emily Edwards, from the Old West of 1876 to turn-of-century New York City, whose polished surfaces conceal as much danger as anything west of the Rockies. Like it or not, Emily has fallen in love with Dreadnought Stanton, a New York Warlock as irresistible as he is insufferable.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • The Goremance Continues!

    • By Dave on 04-30-12

    Regular price: $24.95

  • Book 3

    • The Warlock's Curse

    • By: M. K. Hobson
    • Narrated by: Pat Young
    • Length: 12 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 10
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 9
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 9

    The Year is 1910. Eighteen-year-old Will Edwards has landed a prestigious apprenticeship at Detroit’s Tesla Industries, the most advanced scientific research center in the United States. It’s a plum prize for a young man who dreams of a career in the new science of Otherwhere Engineering.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • The Tedious is back...

    • By Angela on 01-13-14

    Regular price: $24.95