Gibson Family Saga

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 61 ratings

Salem Street Publisher's Summary

The first book in the heartwarming Gibson series by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. 

In 1820, Salem Street is sparkling and new: eight small terraced houses built by a Lancashire mill owner for his best workers. Annie Gibson's family is one of the first to move in - a step up in the world for them. But when her mother dies, Annie's happy childhood ends and she is left to bring up her brother and sister. 

Red-haired, intelligent and startlingly pretty, Annie soon finds herself banished from home by a jealous stepmother. She finds work in the local doctor's household, where she learns about the fascinating world outside Salem Street. And when her adored childhood friend Matt asks her to marry him, Annie thinks her dreams are coming true. 

But suddenly everything turns upside-down. Abandoned and pregnant, Annie returns to Salem Street, where an unexpected offer gives her independence. One day, she vows, she will move into the wider world again. One day....

©1994 Anna Jacobs (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.