Showing results by author "Fiona Mozley"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • Elmet

    • By: Fiona Mozley
    • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett Ryan
    • Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 409
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 384
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 384

    In this atmospheric and profoundly moving debut, Cathy and Daniel live with their father, John, in the remote woods of Yorkshire, in a house the three of them built themselves. John is a gentle brute of a man, a former enforcer who fights for money when he has to, but who otherwise just wants to be left alone to raise his children. When a local landowner shows up on their doorstep, their precarious existence is threatened, and a series of actions is set in motion that can only end in violence.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Strains credibility

    • By DM on 01-06-18

    Regular price: $24.49

    • Elmet

    • By: Fiona Mozley
    • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
    • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 47
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 44

    An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Beautifully written and structured

    • By Olive Gale Mullet on 10-02-17

    Regular price: $21.31