Showing results by author "Judy Chicurel"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

    • By: Judy Chicurel
    • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
    • Length: 9 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3

    It is the summer of 1972, and Katie has just turned 18. Katie and her town, Elephant Beach, are both on the verge: Katie of adulthood, Elephant Beach of gentrification - but not yet. Elephant Beach is still gritty, working-class, close-knit. And Katie spends her time smoking and drinking with her friends, dreaming about a boy just back from Vietnam who's still fighting a battle Katie can't understand.

    Regular price: $24.47

    • If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

    • By: Judy Chicurel
    • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
    • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working class community on Long Island. For readers of Jennifer Egan and Anne Tyler. Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over.

    Regular price: $28.04