Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
We Were Kings  By  cover art

We Were Kings

By: Court Stevens
Narrated by: McKenzie Fetters
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.64

Buy for $14.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A 20-year-old crime, an accelerated death penalty, and an elitist family cover-up: Nyla races against the death row clock to save a woman the world is rooting for...and against. Which side will you choose?

Twenty years ago, 18-year-old Francis Quick was convicted of murdering her best friend, Cora King, and sentenced to death. Now the highly debated Accelerated Death Penalty Act has passed, giving Frankie 30 final days to live. Surprising everyone, one of the King family members sets out to challenge the woefully inadequate evidence and potential innocence of Frankie Quick.

The at-first reluctant but soon-fiery Nyla and her unexpected ally - handsome country island boy Sam Stack - bring Frankie’s case to the international stage through her YouTube channel, Death Daze. They step into fame and a hometown battle that someone’s still willing to kill over. But who? The senator? The philanthropist? The pawn shop owner? Nyla’s own mother?

Best advice: Don’t go to family dinner at the Kings’ estate. More people will leave in body bags than on their own two feet. And as for Frankie Quick, she’s a gem...even if she’s guilty.

Praise for We Were Kings:

We Were Kings is the best kind of mystery novel — intelligent and bursting with heart. As Nyla untangled her family’s secrets, the twists left me breathless.” (Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times best-selling author)

“Bingeable. Atmospheric. A book that grabs hold and doesn’t let go. We Were Kings offers a delicious mystery perfect for fans of We Were Liars and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. I savored every word from beginning to end.” (Caroline George, author of The Summer We Forgot)

  • Young Adult suspense with some romance
  • Stand-alone novel
©2022 Court Stevens (P)2022 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about We Were Kings

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    96
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    207
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW. GET READY TO BE HOOKED.

Not only did this book not disappoint, it kept me engaged the entire time. Full of twists and turns from beginning to end, I’m sad it ended! Way to go, Court Stevens! Can’t wait to read anything you write.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance