1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

As an empire dies, three warriors will rise. They will have to ride the storm or drown in its blood.

"An exciting new author in fantasy." (Mark Lawrence, author of Red Sister

Seventeen years after rebels stormed the streets, factions divide Kisia. Only the firm hand of the god-emperor holds the empire together. But when an unexpected betrayal destroys a tense alliance with neighboring Chiltae, all that has been won comes crashing down. 

In Kisia, Princess Miko Ts'ai is a prisoner in her own castle. She dreams of claiming her empire, but the path to power could rip it, and her family, asunder. 

In Chiltae, assassin Cassandra Marius is plagued by the voices of the dead. Desperate, she accepts a contract that promises to reward her with a cure if she helps an empire fall. 

And on the border between nations, Captain Rah e'Torin and his warriors are exiles forced to fight in a foreign war or die. 

War built the Kisian Empire. War will tear it down. 

We Ride the Storm is the epic launch of a bold and brutal new fantasy series, perfect for listeners of Mark Lawrence, John Gwynne and Brian Staveley.

The Reborn Empire

We Ride the Storm

For more from Devin Madson, check out:

The Vengeance Trilogy

The Blood of Whisperers

The Gods of Vice

The Grave at Storm's End

©2020 Devin Madson (P)2020 Orbit

Critic Reviews

"Madson has built a living, breathing world of Empire and fury. We Ride The Storm grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go." (Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones)

"Fans of George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series will appreciate the feudal political maneuvering, shifting alliances, and visceral descriptions of combat and its aftermath in this series starter." (Booklist)

"With prose that rises above most novels, Devin Madson paints evocative scenes to build an engaging story. Highly entertaining, We Ride the Storm is certainly worth your attention and Madson is an exciting new author in fantasy." (Mark Lawrence, author of Red Sister)

What listeners say about We Ride the Storm

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Recorded in a closet?

I honestly did not make it far in the book. The audio quality was abysmal.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Tedious, annoying characters

Reminder why so bad, tediously and oh so illogical, not a free world, to much borrowed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent read

This was an interesting story but not as good as I hoped. I had a hard time relating to their characters to a certain extent as I felt like some if their actions didn't really fit with their character profile. It just made for less believable characters that I didn't fully but into. The ending was also disappointing, not really a cliff hanger but didn't bring many threads to a resolution either, just shifted them to a new circumstance. I might revisit the series later, but it hasn't caught my attention to continue to the next book presently.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Non-stop action, exceptional audio book readers, and a fresh take on epic fantasy make this book a huge win!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging story, unique characters

I will be continuing on with this series in the near future!
My only real complaint is with the narration. haven't seen the print version, so it's possible this is an editing mistake, but there were several points where a sentence or two were repeated twice in a row. Not enough to keep me away, but enough to knock down the score a bit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

this was a great book. can't wait for the next one
the narration was well done. i had high expectations and this book didn't disappoint.